Mandarin Almond Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This is a great salad! I have made this twice now for parties, and each time I've been asked for the recipe. I added just a bit of balsamic vinegar to the red wine vinegar for a stronger vinegar flavor. For a party, I prepped everything the night before, put the sugared almonds in a ziplock bag and the dressing in a jar, refrigerated the salad, and then combined everything at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I've made this many times with whatever type of lettuce I have on hand (but never iceberg!) and it's always good. Advice on the sugared almonds: Let the sugar start carmelizing just a bit before you add the almonds. Adding the nuts too early can make them toast too brown before the sugar carmelizes. Adding the nuts too late will mean the sugar browns before the nuts get toasted. You'll have to experiment a little to get this just right, but it's worth it! I've use chopped walnuts, too. Very delicious! My guests loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
Almonds were a nice touch. Didn't care for the dressing, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
Delicious and easy. To save a step, I used the pre-packaged honey roasted slivered almonds available at most supermarkets. My Mother usually will not eat salad w/nuts and fruit but as soon as she tasted this, she asked for the recipe! She makes it more often than I do now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This recipe is very similar to one my grandma used to make. I sometimes use a mixture of romaine and spinach. In my dressing, I also like to use a bit of lemon or lime juice along with the vinegar to give it a bit more zing. If I don't have any red pepper flakes, I use a dash of tabasco sauce, or some paprika and chili powder. And I always wait until I'm ready to serve to pour the dressing on!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Instead of Romaine, I filled up a large bowl w/ torn red and green leaf lettuce. The salad was gorgeous and we loved it! I'll be making it again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
My family and I loved this! I didn't change a thing - loved the heat that the red pepper flakes add to the dressing. Excellent! I'll definitely be making this one a lot. Next time I'll try adding strawberries too. Good "company" salad :o) Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I loved this salad. The only thing is it doesn't last long. It needs to be eaten right away, no left overs. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
Excellent! My wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
What a unique salad recipe! I love it, and will be serving this at my annual ladies Christmas luncheon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States