Mandarin Almond Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This salad was excellent, I did add fresh strawberries and used a Raspberry Vinaigrette dressing, I did not have sliced almonds so I used Pecans with the sugar coating. I had friends over for dinner and they loved it, I will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This was fantastic. The almonds are definitely worth the trouble of coating with the sugar. I added fresh strawberries like the picture. Everyone in the family loved the salad and gave it 5 stars. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
My family and I loved this! I didn't change a thing - loved the heat that the red pepper flakes add to the dressing. Excellent! I'll definitely be making this one a lot. Next time I'll try adding strawberries too. Good "company" salad :o) Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I tried this recipe tonight and it was delicious. We are trying to lower the amount of sugars in our diet, so toasted the almonds without adding sugar. And instead of sugar, I added salt and pepper to the dressing. My husband and I both loved it! Thank you for giving us a fresh salad idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Very easy to make and I love the sugared almonds. Instead of romaine, I used bagged organic spring mix. I cut the recipe in half. Served with grilled chicken and corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I liked this salad, except that I have a digestive problem with fresh onion--and this disagreed with me. The dressing was wonderful, and I really liked the addition of the sugared almonds. I will make it again, but touch it up with onion salt instead of raw onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
YUM! I added fresh sliced strawberries to the salad, as the photo shows, and it was really a great addition, combining well with the dressing and sugared almonds. And we LOVED the sugared sliced almonds. I also cut the olive oil in half and just did equal parts red wine vinegar and olive oil. I made half the amount of salad since there were just two of us, but the full amount of dressing and that was about right. I would make this again; very refreshing on a warm summer evening. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
A wonderfully fresh salad. I didn't use the dressing that was listed and used a garlic raspberry vinaigrette and it was just as delicious. I added some fresh peas and radishes for some extra color and texture. This is a wonderful salad base and you can mix and match different toppings to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Thsi salad was fabulous! I did make the sugared almonds (which added so much to the salad) but, because of previous reviews, I did not make the dressing. instead I used some bottled raspberry vinaigrette as others did. Don't skimp on the green onions! I served this w/ a pork stir fry & it complemented it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This salad was perfect. We really liked the dressing. Next time I'm going to add strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States