Mancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Not bad but added cumin and fresh corn kernels to the batter. Served with shredded taco chicken and cojita cheese. Will make again with the added changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Not my favorite at all, I will stick with my usual pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vitalismom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I love cornmeal pancakes so I really enjoyed these. I was skeptical at first although, I like sweet and savory, cheese inside of a pancake was a little odd to me. I eliminated the black and Cayenne pepper, I thought it was a bit much. I absolutely hate all forms of onion so instead of onion I used a fresh finely chopped jalapeno pepper which added some heat back to the recipe. I made them twice and enjoyed them each time. I actually think they could've use more cheese. I didn't really notice the cheese in the finished product. The next time I'll try adding more. I also found the chipotle syrup to be a nice addition. I could see these as a part of a savory dish; they kind of remind me of a Latin corn cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joi Witcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
A great start to our day! Used 1/2 the onion & used brown sugar substitute. A new favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
skeptical at first but everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Excellent. Might add more cheese next time and more cayenne and chipotle to have a bit more heat. No changes were required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Thank you! On our family vacation last month we were served these at a little shop in Astoria OR and loved them. The family has been trying to find the recipe and this is so close. Served as a savory breakfast with sour cream and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These were just ok for us. Mr. LTH deemed them "too greasy" and neither one of use finished ours. I followed the recipe as written, save the addition of black pepper, per personal preference. I served this with a side of beer, and that was a hit, but the pancakes themselves fell a bit flat of our expectations (bacon, onions, cheddar, heat...how can you go wrong?!). Worth a shot, but won't be a repeater on the breakfast table at the LTH house. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kriegerog
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was easy and fun to make. My kids and wife loved it. If your kids didn't you should probably get them off the fast food diet. The only thing I did was add a bit more bacon. Probably used about 10oz total and added a little bit more chipotle powder to the syrup. I also made home made maple syrup. Way better than store bought and cut out the vegetable oil and used coconut instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriegerog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made this for my husband for Father's Day 2014. He loved them and my daughter wants me to make them again this weekend. I cheated and used pre-cooked real bacon bits, which I sautéed with the green onions. I had planned to add a little butter if necessary, but I didn't have to. I didn't add the bacon grease to the griddle, but I think the flavor was fine without. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Mancakes

Do Dad a flavor favor! Cornmeal pancakes with built-in bacon and Cheddar cheese.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States