Man-Lovin' Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is my recipe, so I wanted to be sure to tell people to leave the peels on the potatoes-it adds a great texture. Also, the potatoes should be the medium-sized reds Thanks so much and I hope you enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Old Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I will make this again. Next time I will not add as much mayo. I did add sour cream! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiska
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
My husband took a bite of this and said, "Mmm... impressive!" They turned out very good. I did make a few changes: I used mircle whip instead of mayo because we rarely have mayo in the house (we just prefer mircle whip), I used cheddar cheese instead of American because that's what I had on hand that needed to be used anyway, and instead of mixing the bacon in with the potoato mixture I sprinkled them on top and smothered a bit of the potato "sauce" on top of the bacon before adding the parm. cheese. It's been my experience that baking bacon in with a dish makes the bacon very gooey and not crispy which is how I like it. The only thing I will do different next time is cut up the potatoes a little smaller. I cut them into approx. 1/4" slices then across four times each and I think they'd be better a little smaller, but that's just personal perference. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This turned out excellent. My family cleaned the entire dish and wanted more. I did saute the onions before adding them, but other than that, I followed the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Oh my gosh, even a woman can love these potatoes! I had to adapt it a bit, though - we women have to watch our calories! The changes I made: increased the red onion to 1 cup (because my man and I love it!), used half regular mayo and half light, used light sour cream, added 1 T of garlic salt (I find that the light mayo needs a bit more salt than the regular kind), and a heaping T of minced garlic. I used all regular bacon, but after trying this once - and being HIGHLY successful! - I think I could have gone with half turkey bacon and cut the fat down more. I think I also could have used less regular mayo and more light. Amazing what you can do with red potatoes! This recipe is a major keeper, congrats, Old Crow!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I just want you to know that I made this for my church pot-luck and it was such a huge hit that I've been asked to make it for our lunchoen when our Bishop visits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leighsah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Very delicious. Had them for lunch today with baked ham. Perfect combination. DH says they tasted like "fully loaded baked potatoes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
GREAT recipe! I used the grease from frying the bacon to grease the pan. Everyone loved these potatoes - I did leave the peels on the potatoes and it worked perfectly! No peeling - yea!! My dad had thirds with his dinner and my husband was picking more out of the pan even after he said how he couldn't eat another bite! ;-) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
The family loved this. I made a few changes. We had no bacon, and I forgot to add the ham, so we added a 1/4 cup of crushed ritz crackers. We doubled the potatoes because they were small, and it was a little dry. We added cheddar instead of American cheese, and instead of the parmesan cheese we crumbled some cheezits on top. It was wonderful! It had a very strong garlic flavor which I love. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
We loved this recipe. I made it for a large family dinner and it got rave reviews from everyone. We used light mayo, cheddar chease, and fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder. It was just like eating a loaded potato. We will definetely be making this dish again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States