Mamon (Sponge Cakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I wish I could have given this recipe 10 stars...WOW! I followed the advice of another reader, and substituted the regular flour for cake flour, but added another 3 minutes to the baking time. ( Make sure you don't over bake them.)I made only half of this recipe, and got 3 1/2 dozen regular size cupcakes. Sooooo easy to put together, and the flavor is out-of-this world. I will make these over and over again. Thanks for sharing with us. You made my day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INESPR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
These are so light and delicate. They are also very moist if you are careful to not over-bake. I raise the temperature to 375 and they bake up in about eight minutes. They go from still jiggly to done VERY quickly, so make sure to watch them. Using a standard sized cupcake tin and a #16 (2.75oz) ice cream scoop, this recipe makes me 36 cakes. The number of cupcakes will vary, depending on how much volume is beaten into the egg whites and how much volume is lost while folding into the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I've made these several times now and they're just marvelous. The as-is recipe nets 3 8" round cakes. I've made the traditional small cake too, and always end up with more than 16 and they bake in ~25 minutes. My dad's Filipino girlfriend brought store-bought mamon over a few months ago and this absolutely satisfied the craving I've developed for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was a great recipe! However, when my mom made mamon, it was dense and rich instead of light and fluffy. Looks like I need to ask my mom for her recipe still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
A VERY GOOD base for all kinds of desserts, depending on how you fill or glaze it. I made it in one BIG round cake and so needed a 50 minutes cooking in the oven (last 15 minutes I reduced heat though). My tiny changes : no cream of tartar, replaced half water-half orange juice by the whole orange juice. My suggestions : served with strawberries and wiped cream : yumyumyum ! (orange and strawberries fit together prefectly), second time served with apricot jam inside and a dark chocolate coat : yumyumyum again ! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was light and flavorful~ I am making this again for sure!! Thank you for the recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Had I read the top review more carefully, I wouldn't have my mamon come out so dry. The taste was good, but after 35 min of baking, it came out very dry. As long as you watch the time carefully, it should be very delicious. I would definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
i made this recipe as a base for my "Crema de Fruta" cake. I changed the number of servings to just 12 and it had such a great proportion! It was yummmy!! I will do this again...and again!!! thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeybabe
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
My Lola loved these, and she usually only likes what she makes herself. I followed the recipe exactly and the cakes came out light and fluffy. I brushed the tops w/ melted butter & added a little bit of sugar and cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This recipe doesn't taste like the store bought mamon I've had but it is still pretty good...fluffy and not too sweet. I believe using cake flour next time and folding in the egg whites a little at a time gradually along with the flour (instead of mixing it in with the egg yolks) will create a more delicate cake. I cut the recipe in half and was able to make 2- 6" rounds...baked in my Wilton aluminum pans at 325 degrees for 30 mins. They puffed up beautifully. The only change I made was instead of the 1/3 cup of water and oj I used 2/3 cup of milk and omitted the grated orange peel because I don't care for citrus flavored cakes and pastries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States