Mamon (Sponge Cakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
AMAZING! I used this recipe, as is, to make homemade twinkies. I used the Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting recipe on this site and pumped it into the "twinkies" after they cooled. Made at least 4 dozen. My kids were over the moon. I have a twinkie pan but I think a muffin pan would work fine too. Next I'm going to make this as a layer cake, fill the layer with a strawberry compote and then use the same Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting recipe for the top. Definitely a keeper. By far the best sponge cake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I wish I could have given this recipe 10 stars...WOW! I followed the advice of another reader, and substituted the regular flour for cake flour, but added another 3 minutes to the baking time. ( Make sure you don't over bake them.)I made only half of this recipe, and got 3 1/2 dozen regular size cupcakes. Sooooo easy to put together, and the flavor is out-of-this world. I will make these over and over again. Thanks for sharing with us. You made my day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INESPR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
These are so light and delicate. They are also very moist if you are careful to not over-bake. I raise the temperature to 375 and they bake up in about eight minutes. They go from still jiggly to done VERY quickly, so make sure to watch them. Using a standard sized cupcake tin and a #16 (2.75oz) ice cream scoop, this recipe makes me 36 cakes. The number of cupcakes will vary, depending on how much volume is beaten into the egg whites and how much volume is lost while folding into the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I've made these several times now and they're just marvelous. The as-is recipe nets 3 8" round cakes. I've made the traditional small cake too, and always end up with more than 16 and they bake in ~25 minutes. My dad's Filipino girlfriend brought store-bought mamon over a few months ago and this absolutely satisfied the craving I've developed for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was a great recipe! However, when my mom made mamon, it was dense and rich instead of light and fluffy. Looks like I need to ask my mom for her recipe still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
A VERY GOOD base for all kinds of desserts, depending on how you fill or glaze it. I made it in one BIG round cake and so needed a 50 minutes cooking in the oven (last 15 minutes I reduced heat though). My tiny changes : no cream of tartar, replaced half water-half orange juice by the whole orange juice. My suggestions : served with strawberries and wiped cream : yumyumyum ! (orange and strawberries fit together prefectly), second time served with apricot jam inside and a dark chocolate coat : yumyumyum again ! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was light and flavorful~ I am making this again for sure!! Thank you for the recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Had I read the top review more carefully, I wouldn't have my mamon come out so dry. The taste was good, but after 35 min of baking, it came out very dry. As long as you watch the time carefully, it should be very delicious. I would definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
i made this recipe as a base for my "Crema de Fruta" cake. I changed the number of servings to just 12 and it had such a great proportion! It was yummmy!! I will do this again...and again!!! thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeybabe
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
My Lola loved these, and she usually only likes what she makes herself. I followed the recipe exactly and the cakes came out light and fluffy. I brushed the tops w/ melted butter & added a little bit of sugar and cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States