Mammaw's Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These are fantastic, but I always have to tweak my recipes.....so I changed out 1/2 cup of the flour to whole wheat, used 1/4c brown sugar for the white, 1/4tea of nutmeg and added a teaspoon of vanilla and cinnamon like everyone else. To add some omega 3 acids I also added 1/4c of flax seed. If you leave the leftovers out to cool for an hour they freeze wonderfully and you don't have to buy those expensive ones. My kids love them and my husband said they taste like restaurant waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Very good, crispy waffles. I used freshly ground soft wheat flour and sucanat to sweeten. The waffles came out light and fluffy. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made a couple of changes to really enhance the waffles, and they were really good. I used 1 3/4 c buttermilk, 1/4 heavy cream, 1 1/2 tbsp vanilla, 1/2c of flour and 1 1/2 tbsp sugar. Though I used it, I somewhat leary about using yeast in this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
these were so good. i added some vanilla, cinnamon and fresh blueberries. they are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I was nervous as I have never made waffles any way other than from a mix before, but these are really easy. I followed the recipe exactly. The only issue I had was my first batch ran over horribly. I may simply have a small waffle iron, once I decreased the batter to 1/4 cup they were perfect. I froze the leftovers and my daughter has eaten them for breakfast every morning this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Light, fluffy, tasty-- Delicious! Perfect as waffles or pancakes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Great recipe. Had to cook as pancakes since I don't have a waffle iron any more. I made these for my dad who loves waffles and never met a pancake he didn't like. He amazed me when he said that they weren't like pancakes OR waffles but were BETTER THAN BOTH! Can't wait to make them for the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYDUFF
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
It was very simple and tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
very good! Came out perfact you should think into selling those waffles. make batter night before and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knocknacarra, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Wow!!! This were delicious!!! I made these into pancakes, not waffles. Chocolate chip pancakes to be precise. I also added a little vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter, just a personal preference. This is now our favorite recipie for pancakes. Quick and easy, and the batter stores well too for quick morning breakfasts(or lunch or dinners!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States