Mammaw's Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
A ittle too eggy for my tastes but made a nice, crispy waffle, but only after letting the batter sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
The recipe makes exactly 8 pan-sized waffles (heart ones) for those wondering. The mix is indeed runnier than your average waffle mix, but they work; use a regular-sized ladle and pour about 4/5 of it and it will not spill. Leaving them overnight makes them fluffier as it has been mentioned. I prepared a batch of the batter last night, using whole wheat and indeed, you couldn't tell they were whole wheat. Since I always make whole wheat & oat pancakes I wanted to test if it would work with these.. in the last 2 waffles i added a handful of oats and stirred. They made the batter a little thicker but also tasted great. So if you worry about your batter being runny, add oats and wait 5 minutes before starting, so the oats soak up some liquid. Wonderful, wonderful waffles, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I've tried this with trytamil flour and got better results than with plain flour! I make the batter the night before and leave it covered in a wide deep bowl (for expansion ) unrefigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Our family is partial to yeasty tasting goods and this recipe provided a light-yeast taste. I added an additional tablespoon of sugar but made no other ingredient changes. TIP: After blending all ingredients, let the mixture sit for 5 minutes to allow the yeast to develop. Like another reviewer said, the yeast saved the step of beating eye whites to get a lighter waffle. We loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
If you like light, airy waffles then I think this would be a great waffle recipe for you. I prefer my waffles a bit heavier or denser than this, so I'm only giving it 4 stars. I'll keep looking for a recipe that suits my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Tender yet crispy! Love the make ahead option and no beating egg whites! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This recipe was easy but extremely tasteless, and I won't use this again. I also had so many problems getting them out of the waffle maker that they came out in pieces. I never had a problem with other waffle recipes I've used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
GREAT texture. light & fluffy. just what I was looking for. only modification is that I added some vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I added some vanilla, and sprinkled chopped toasted pecans on top of the batter before cooking. Served with real maple syrup simmered with butter & cream and a dash of cinnamon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My son asked for "the pancakes with squares on them", and when I realized he was talking about waffles, I found this recipe right away - I didn't want to have to beat egg whites, and this is a great way to avoid that. The ONLY thing I switched was adding vanilla, but also about 3 Tbsp malt powder. My kids gobbled it up - solid, perfect recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States