Mammaw's Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was easy & GREAT. The waffles were crisp outside, soft inside, great flavor. I doubled this recipe (5 teen boys + adults) and for some reason it was way too thin. I added a cup and a half of flour. It was still thinner than I am used to but worked perfectly--raised to fill the waffle iron. This is my permanent waffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Taylor Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
They really are light and fluffy and they do melt in your mouth we had these yesterday morning my hubby flipped over them so he wants them again this morning. Thanks for shreing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
These waffles are delicious! They're light and fluffy on the inside, and crispy on the outside. They also have a great yeast flavor. These are by far my kids' favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I made these waffles for my husband for fathers Day and they were perfect. I did not change anything to the recipe. They were light and fluffy and had a sweet kick to them. They were GREAT....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHES28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Very good waffles! I traded 1 cup of the buttermilk for sourdough starter, and used 1 cup reg. milk. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These are fantastic, but I always have to tweak my recipes.....so I changed out 1/2 cup of the flour to whole wheat, used 1/4c brown sugar for the white, 1/4tea of nutmeg and added a teaspoon of vanilla and cinnamon like everyone else. To add some omega 3 acids I also added 1/4c of flax seed. If you leave the leftovers out to cool for an hour they freeze wonderfully and you don't have to buy those expensive ones. My kids love them and my husband said they taste like restaurant waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Very good, crispy waffles. I used freshly ground soft wheat flour and sucanat to sweeten. The waffles came out light and fluffy. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made a couple of changes to really enhance the waffles, and they were really good. I used 1 3/4 c buttermilk, 1/4 heavy cream, 1 1/2 tbsp vanilla, 1/2c of flour and 1 1/2 tbsp sugar. Though I used it, I somewhat leary about using yeast in this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
these were so good. i added some vanilla, cinnamon and fresh blueberries. they are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I was nervous as I have never made waffles any way other than from a mix before, but these are really easy. I followed the recipe exactly. The only issue I had was my first batch ran over horribly. I may simply have a small waffle iron, once I decreased the batter to 1/4 cup they were perfect. I froze the leftovers and my daughter has eaten them for breakfast every morning this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States