Mammaw's Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I loved these waffles! I used one teaspoon of INSTANT YEAST because I was out of active dry yeast and followed the directions for instant yeast by adding them directly to the flour. (No need to proof the yeast) Made them the night before and let them rise on the refrigerator overnight. Took them out thirty minutes before cooking them to bring to room temperature. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
After reading all the reviews was looking forward to these waffles. A bit disappointing, 1/4 cup of mix wouldn't cover the bottom of my waffle iron, I have a larger belgium waffle maker, maybe others are using smaller iron. I got 4 full size waffles and about 1/2 of another. The batter was a bit runny but did cook up fine, but was not crunchy on the outside but soft and we were not fussy on these. I did freeze the ones we didn't eat as my grand daughters will eat them, but personally will stick with my old recipe. I followed recipe and only changed oil for apple sauce, everything else remained the same. I'm glad others found these so nice but I will not be using this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe with a couple changes. I added 1 tsp. vanilla. I also separated the eggs ans whipped the whites. I then folded the whites into the mixture. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Linwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My family loves this recipe, its so good to make the batter the night before in the fridge. They are so fluffy and so GOOD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
THE best waffles we've ever had. EVER. I only made one change and that's using whole wheat white flour. I kept everything else the same (only using organic where I could). I laugh at the eight servings because my boys ate every single waffle I made. I made Absolute Best Pancake Syrup special to go with these waffles and it really just.....wow. Really off-the-charts yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
These were just what I have been looking for. They taste like the waffles I remember as a kid. I make "hot" breakfast at least 5 days a week, so I have been through a TON of waffle recipes. This is my new "go-to"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Finally, a waffle that is light, fluffy, and flavorful! These were excellent...we added a little vanilla, and maybe a tsp of flour to thicken it up, but otherwise it was perfect. Just like a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I followed this recipe the way it was written and they were delicious. The batter is on the thin side, which is why I think they are so crispy. We prefer lighter and crispy waffles, rather than thick. Very good. Probably won't use Bisquick again unless there is a big time crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkmarcoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong, it was very runny. Tasted ok, texture was perfect, lightly crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is a pretty good little waffle recipe. I was happy with the consistency and taste and only made a couple modifications. I added 2T. of sugar and a 1t. vanilla. Our family likes a little sweeter waffle. Preparation was fairly simple. I would recommend and share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States