Mammaw's Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Makes good waffles. I added some vanilla for more flavor. I like the make-ahead feature a lot - saves time in the morning when you need to put breakfast on the table in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
These are fabulous waffles and so quick & easy to make. I altered the recipe a bit by using only 1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour, 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour, 1/2 t. of vanilla extract, 1/2 t. of cinnamon, dash of nutmeg and sprinkled pecans of the batter after pouring it into the iron. My husband raved over these waffles! By the way, left over batter rises beautifully in the fridge, making the next day's batch of waffles even fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
THE best waffles we've ever had. EVER. I only made one change and that's using whole wheat white flour. I kept everything else the same (only using organic where I could). I laugh at the eight servings because my boys ate every single waffle I made. I made Absolute Best Pancake Syrup special to go with these waffles and it really just.....wow. Really off-the-charts yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
These are really great waffles. They are so light and fluffy, and crisp on the outside. I used half whole wheat pastry flour and you couldn't even tell any whole wheat was in there. My kids just loved these and kept asking for more- even my one-year old (who just ate his plain). I chose this recipe because it used buttermilk and didn't involve whipping the egg whites separately. I also liked the fact that it used yeast. I have some batter leftover so I'll have to see how that is tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
For 2 generations my family has been beating eggwhites to make waffles....now I've found this recipe that is SO much easier to make, and is DELICIOUS! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Finally, a waffle that is light, fluffy, and flavorful! These were excellent...we added a little vanilla, and maybe a tsp of flour to thicken it up, but otherwise it was perfect. Just like a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
very good! Came out perfact you should think into selling those waffles. make batter night before and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knocknacarra, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Great recipe. Had to cook as pancakes since I don't have a waffle iron any more. I made these for my dad who loves waffles and never met a pancake he didn't like. He amazed me when he said that they weren't like pancakes OR waffles but were BETTER THAN BOTH! Can't wait to make them for the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYDUFF
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
These were some of the best waffles!!!!! So easy,to think I have been beating egg whites,never again!!! Husband like them too.I made the batter up the night before and made them in the AM.I had some batter left over and just put it back in the frig and used today! I thought they were better today then when I made them up yesterday!!Thanks for sharing the recipe Mari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
These came out very eggy for me and soft. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, or if they're supposed to be like this but I got no crunch at all. The batter seemed like the right texture but the waffles definitely weren't. I will give these a second shot in the morning after the batter sits overnight but I don't have high hopes unfortunately. They tasted fine, but the texture just wasn't very waffle-like; more like pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States