Mamma Rita's Eggs and Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Add some pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I think if you like tomatoes and eggs, you will love this one, but for some reason I just wasn't feeling it. My eggs got fried (I don't like fried eggs) and not kind of soft poached like in the photos here. Could have been the teflon pot I was using. Also, I thought that the egg and tomato combination was very acidic, but that could have been my tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This is so simple and delicious! I added some basil and really didn't think it was necessary. I also put it over a grilled cheese sandwich for my lunch today and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Easy and delicious! I LOVE EGGS! After eating this several times, I had a leftover bottle of salsa verde and thought, "hey, why not?" Turned out wonderful! Something about poaching the eggs in a sauce rather than water seems to give them a better texture and is just plain easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My dad used to make this all the time. I was so excited to see the recipe here! I made it for dinner tonight and my husband gave it a two thumbs up. I did two things differently: 1) I removed the skins from the tomatoes by plunging them into hot water, and 2) I gently sauteed chopped onions with the oil before adding the chopped tomatoes. Next time I'll try this with sauteed tri-color bell pepper and kick it up a knotch by adding a few flakes of chili pepper. Adding fresh chopped up Italian herbs also adds great flavour. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I used canned tomatoes and seasoned quite a bit with oregano and Italian seasoning. Added a little mozerella towards the end of cooking as well. Wow! The whole thing turned out muh tastier than I expected. I'm always looking for new ways to do my morning eggs and I'm excited to do this one again. I'm going to add some mushrooms next time, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I've not done it this way but I have used pasta sauce that's the way my father did it. Either way is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I loved this growing up. Having grown up in a Italian household this was my choice of food when I wanted a fast breakfast, lunch or dinner. Still love eating it. This is the best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This simple recipe is very good, a nice light flavorful alternative to the scrambled eggs/omletes I usually make for breakfast or lunch. I did serve alongside fresh baked bread and together they were amazing. I personally added a few sprinkles of Italian seasoning but I don't think extra spices are required, in the future I'll make as written because the fresh tomatoes, eggs and olive oil are perfect just themselves. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
So easy, I might be able to make it again without reading the directions; and, so yummy, I'm sure I'll get a chanct to try! Great way to use up some garden tomatoes and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States