Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This tastes amazing. I did take the advice of others stating the horseradish was muted, so I opted for spicy brown mustard with half yellow mustard. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Ive been married for 10 years and ive tried a few potato salad recipes because hubby likes it. Disaster. This one is great and walks you through. The only alteration u made was to use spicy brown mustard also just because my mother does. Great recipe, !thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Good Recipe!! The only thing I changed was instead of adding pickles, I substituted with fresh chopped cucumber & sprinkled slightly with a finely chopped green pepper & red pepper & I topped it off with a dash of bacon bits & paprika! ( I think the paprika made it even better, for those of you who like even more of a kick then the horseradish had to offer) Def a great recipe, my fiance couldn't get enough of it!! ( even better the next day as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is very similar to my mother's recipe minus the horseradish and we add 3 tbsp of the pickle juice in the salad. To simplify I just use dill pickle relish. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Didn't have horseradish, but still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I just finished making this - I haven't even cleaned the kitchen yet. This is seriously the BEST potato salad I've ever had!!! I have to admit, I didn't add the horseradish because I didn't have any, but it was still FANTASTIC!! Thankyou!! I followed the recipe exactly other than the horseradish. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Love this salad, but what I didn't like is that the potatoes smush and it all becomes a heap of baby-like food. Kind of a unappetizing texture. However, the taste is nice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I halved this recipe for dinner. I doubled the mustard, omitted the horseradish and used 1/4 C. sweet relish in place of the dill pickles. (Putting the eggs and onions in the food processor gave them the perfect consistency.) This was wonderful with the substitutions for my taste. Just like the deli's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This potato salad is wonderful!! I cut down the yellow mustard a little and added some celery, but otherwise followed to the T. My new fav!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
DELICIOUS!! I used about 1/2 red potatoes (I don't bother pealing potatoes when I cook with them... adds color and texture!) and 1/2 turnips in the pot to boil; both chopped the same size. I also omitted the mustard, horsey sauce and the dill pickles, subbing a 1/4 c (or so -- eye-balled it!) of relish... and added dried rosemary at the same time as the onions (so marry the flavors...) This recipe is a great recipe to play with! I'm sure I'll make it differently next time - I'm an experimental cook ;-) It's in the fridge now, but my MIL, DH and hubby's uncle all tasted it and said it was great! There's a container of potato salad in the fridge from the grocery store.... may be taking that back (bc it's full of HFCS and preservatives -- yuck-o!) If it's anything less than rave reviews: I'll update here... I'm assuming the flavors will only get much better in the fridge!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States