Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Just a hint.......if you boil potaoes in their jacket they are soooo much tastier. Simply boil them whole till tender, cool until you can easily handle them and peel the skins off. Depends on your kitchen experience as to whether it takes a wee bit longer to peel them this way, but if you try it once, you'll notice a BIG difference in the flavor. Also I don't add pickles of any kind to potato salad, but that's just to MY liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dike, Iowa, USA
Living In: Beaman, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I keep on trying to improve the potato salad I make. Unfortunately I am allergic to horseradish so I don't want to add this ingredient. Unfortunately too my husband loves horseradish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
GREAT recipe! I made this for the 4th of July BBQ and there wasn't a bite left. I left the pickles out and added a little extra horseradish for kick. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Serb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This tastes amazing. I did take the advice of others stating the horseradish was muted, so I opted for spicy brown mustard with half yellow mustard. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Ive been married for 10 years and ive tried a few potato salad recipes because hubby likes it. Disaster. This one is great and walks you through. The only alteration u made was to use spicy brown mustard also just because my mother does. Great recipe, !thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Good Recipe!! The only thing I changed was instead of adding pickles, I substituted with fresh chopped cucumber & sprinkled slightly with a finely chopped green pepper & red pepper & I topped it off with a dash of bacon bits & paprika! ( I think the paprika made it even better, for those of you who like even more of a kick then the horseradish had to offer) Def a great recipe, my fiance couldn't get enough of it!! ( even better the next day as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is very similar to my mother's recipe minus the horseradish and we add 3 tbsp of the pickle juice in the salad. To simplify I just use dill pickle relish. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Didn't have horseradish, but still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I just finished making this - I haven't even cleaned the kitchen yet. This is seriously the BEST potato salad I've ever had!!! I have to admit, I didn't add the horseradish because I didn't have any, but it was still FANTASTIC!! Thankyou!! I followed the recipe exactly other than the horseradish. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Love this salad, but what I didn't like is that the potatoes smush and it all becomes a heap of baby-like food. Kind of a unappetizing texture. However, the taste is nice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States