Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
We loved it. I used Costco's grass-fed lean ground beef and it was perfect. I also had a box of Panko Italian Bread Crumbs, so I used that -- very easy to measure the required amount of bread crumbs into the mix. As another reviewer mentioned, I rolled the meat mixture between my hands to make a rope, then I was able to cut or pinch off just the right amount for a meatball. I did use the option to change the 10 servings to 5 servings, and it worked perfectly. I will definitely use this recipe again -- but next time, I may try ground chicken. I wonder what it would be like to use fresh-frozen and thawed fish pieces?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by richared
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
I've never really been turned on by wedding soup but I'll admit, I had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
As with all recipes fresh ingredients are best. Personally use a whole chicken to make the broth and season broth with salt lightly as the flavor will intensify as the liquid reduces. Wedding soups I've had never had the meatball baked or pan fried first. But the cooks skimmed off the chicken fat,and meatball fat after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
Used Club House brand Parmesan & Herbs one-step seasoning (3 TBs) in the ground beef along with the 2 eggs and bread crumbs. Did not add onions (or basil) to the ground beef. Sautéd the onion instead and added to the broth along with the un-sautéed carrots. Addded yummy cheese balls to the soup by beating an egg or 2 and adding Parmesan until stiff enough to form a ball. Make them small (about grape size) bc they'll expand. Drop into hot soup at the end - so they don't cook too long. A favorite! so always make more rather than less.Had hard-boiled eggs available to add, or as a side. They enrich the flavor and texture.Thanks for this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnpppnk

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Made it, liked it, might make it again in the future, but would definitely brown the meatballs beforehand and add some more spices to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Healthy soup, but VERY BLAND.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I baked the meatballs in the oven for 20 minutes at 425 degrees first. I also add extra pasta. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bexley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I tweaked the recipe... In a hot soup pot w/ EVOO add the chopped carrors, 1 cup sliced thin celery and 1 cup of chopped onion. Saute for about 10 min... I did 2 boxes of 48 oz chicken stock. Make the meatballs according to the directions. We made them the 3/4 in size, but they can go a little smaller. Bring the soup to boil and then add meatballs and simmer for about 15 min ... Add Spinach - start another boil and then simmer for 10 min.... As for the pasta I cook it by itself and not in the soup. I used about 2 cups of dry small shells -- 1 1/2 cups would have been better. After the 10 min cooking of the spinach turn the pot off and add the cooked pasta. Serve w/ grated Parmesan cheese.... Oh, use the fresh or wedge of Parmesan ... Grate really fine for the meatballs and more chunky when serving the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bruzebra
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I've had this before from a can, but never made it. It's way tastier home made for sure, and not that time consuming using the "rope" method mentioned here for making the meatballs. Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have seashell pasta so I used up some bow ties I had. Thought it could have had a little more spice, will try some garlic as suggested next time. Will serve this again. Don't forget to sprinkle Parmesan to your liking on top when it's in the bowl, i used grated and it melted all nice and stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
LOVED IT!!!! I added mushroom slices and 2 extra cups of spinash. Also we used sodium free chicken broth (trying to watch that salt). Kinda made this at the last min and didn't have any ground meat in the house but I did have sweat Italian sausage in the freezer. I took them out of their casing and rolled them into little balls. We also used Bow ties instead of shells for the pasta. We made a big pot to last all week and it was gone in two days!!! I will totally be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States