Mama's Hearty Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T-Ann Pearce
Living In: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Delicious! It is thick enough that in stretching it (by adding more pasta and chicken broth to make it more soup-y) for our large family of 8, it still maintained its rich, tomato taste. I love the fact that I can use whatever veggies I have on hand and it works well. I have had my share of bland minestrones before, so glad to find one so easy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe. The soup was thick enough to be considered a stew. I replaced the pasta with kidney beans to add fiber and protein without the pasta carbs. I also used whole stewed tomatoes and ran them through the vitamix to make them a tad smoother. I'm the only one who likes chunky tomato texture. I used organic, grass-fed beef, and it was still an awesome deal to feed four people. We had some left over for lunch the next day. It was really, really great. I plan on using the base as a stew for whatever I've got in the fridge. It would be great as a chicken vegetable or vegetarian stew. I really love that it's so easy to make. Thanks so much, Jessipeer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Very Good. I used Louisiana hot links , not ground beef, this made it even easier, no draining the beef. Zucchini and carrots, one can of baby white beans, out of basil, so I added about 1/4 tsp. of ground cumin and lots of oregano. Great go to soup. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
this was really good. i wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Wow...this was great! Only change was chicken Parmesan sausage because we're cutting back on beef. Also added.kidney beans. Oh...I also added some back olives because I put them in almost everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made it vegetarian. Left out the meat and added a can of white kidney beans. I also used veg broth to replace the chicken broth. And it was still very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c3veggies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was very good. I used green beans, carrots, and zucchini. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excelent. I added corn and green beans, left out the broccoli. I doubled the pasta also. As the cook said, options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States