Mama's Cornbread and Sausage Turkey Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was a fantastic recipe, and my first attempt at homemade stuffing. My only complaint is that it made way too much. I halved the recipe, and that filled my 9x13 baking dish full, along with a stuffed turkey. Next time I will quarter this recipe, but it is definitely a keeper. Very easy to make as well. I used smoked sausage because it doesn't specify whether to use smoked, or ground, or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
We have updated this recipe to list "4 (6.5 ounce) packages dry corn bread mix" instead of "4 (16 ounce) packages dry corn bread mix." We hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I made this recipe as directed and ended up with enough stuffing to fill 3 9x13 pans. I cooked one pan full and after cooking for 30 minutes as the recipe called for it hadn't even begun to cook, I had to cook it for another 40 minutes for it to look done. It tasted like cornbread mush. This recipe took 2 nights to make, one to make all the cornbread and one to make the actual stuffing. I think the amounts on this recipe need to be checked. It was not worth all the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This was my 1st attempt @ cornbread dressing also. I used 2 packages of cornbread mix & it was just enough. The cook time of dressing took almost 2hrs. The cook time on recipe is totally "wrong"! 30 mins doesn't even brown the dressing. My end result was excellent, but will decrease the amount of spices on next try, because it was little to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This might have been one of the best stuffing recipes that I have ever had! Everyone seemed to love it! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
This time I did follow the recipe exactly-- with the exception--that I "halved the recipe." I choose this because I wanted an Excellent cornbread tasting dressing. That is not what the end result was!! After a lot of time and hard work--my end result was mushy, bland and not what I was expecting. Unfortunately, my husband, children, and guest did not care for this. Yes, we did eat some--because of all the work--and it was the only dressing to go with our Roast Turkey Dinner! Otherwise, I'll keep looking for a "GOOD" cornbread & sausage dressing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
I prepared four 16 oz. cornbread mixes as the recipe called for and it was way too much. I made one 9 x 13 pan of corn bread (two cornbread mixes) and it was just the right amount. This dressing is moist and has excellent flavor. It makes a huge amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
a bit too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
The recipe MUST be wrong. Four 16-oz boxes of cornbread is Waaaayyyy too much. I made it with four 8-oz boxes of Jiffy Cornbread mix and that was just right! Delicious, with flavors I remember from childhood. Unfortunately, that recipe died with the family matriarch. THis one is a fine substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I have used the recipe for the last 4 years.. this has become the family standard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States