Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great way to fancy up a plain chicken strip lunch. Served this quick and easy recipe with microwaved chicken strips and honey mustard dipping sauce. The broiled tomatoes recipe made it feel like a restaurant meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
These were delicious! I sliced the tomatoes really thick and also put some herbs in the marinade as well. I added a little mozzarella and shredded fresh basil on top of the bread/ mayo mixture and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
*revised* I made this twice. The first time I messed up and accidentally plopped my mayo into the balsamic mix. I spooned the mayo out and just stirred the extra balsamic into the mayo. I didn't have oregano so I used 1 leaf of fresh sweet basil. That was amazing and here was what I originally wrote "Simply amazing. I could see an italian restaurant selling this for $7-10 easily. I had no oregano so I used 1 fresh sweet basil leaf cut up finely and mixed. I also added shredded moz to the mix. WOW add some wine and you have a fabulous easy meal." Now, I did it the way you are supposed to do it by the recipe...and it seemed blah. So, I suggest you add a tiny splash of balsamic to the mayo and fresh basil chopped up rather than oregano to make it amazing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erick Sarah Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was absolutely delicious, especially with the tomatoes marinated in balsamic and olive oil. It was also a super fast and easy dish to make which was great. Usually I am not a fan of mayonnaise, but this was actually a perfect small amount and with the added herbs and cheese it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This was an amazing sandwich, but being a cheese lover I used Romano instead of Parmesan cheese and I put it on the sandwich as well as in the sauce. I lasso sprinkled on a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I wouldn't broil it again, only because it burned my edge of the bread before melting the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
So easy, and so good! I used nutritional yeast instead of the parm. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Love this!!! I absolutely love the taste of vinegar unlike my husband who kind of dislikes it. This recipe is a perfect blend to both of our taste buds. This has replaced the garlic bread that I usually serve with spaghetti. I almost forgot he loved it so much that he asked to have it for lunch the other day. Thank you for sharing this with all of us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made this for my family and it was soooo yummy!!! The only thing is that I will use thicker bread next time. I will def make this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
We loved it. Modified the recipe just a bit. We didn't have grated Parm so we used crumbled. You don't get the same look, but the taste is the same. I also think the crumbled Parm works better for the spread. Use dense bread or toast your bread a little more than you usually like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, Texas, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States