Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
TERRIFIC! I used one large average sliced tomato and had it on wheat bread. It made enough for three sandwiches so I totated 2 more pieces of bread. This would be great with a little shredded swiss added to the top before broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These were fantastic!! The mayo/parmesan mixture is a must. What a great blend of flavors...I wish I had made more for myself. When I took it out from under the broiler, there was quite a bit of liquid on top. I just soaked it up with a paper towel and it didn't compromise the taste at all. Next time I might try fat free mayo to cut down on the calories, but other than that these were awesome. Two thumbs up kat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
These were incredible! The marinated tomatoes were delicious, and all the flavors blended so well. I made them on Dutch crunch rolls, and I couldn't imagine a better choice. I also added swiss cheese. Everyone in the family loved them! The next day I re-arranged the ingrediants and it was even better. I added pesto and spinach, and did an open faced sandwich so it was more like a pizza. I would make them this way from now on, but they're delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This was delicious! The mayo sauce added a great touch and the vinegar/olive oil mixture on the tomatoes was fantastic. I topped it off with a bit of mozzerella cheese on top before grilling and it was very nice. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I really really liked this. Didn't make any changes except to drizzle a little of the vinegar over the sandwiches as well. 4/11/03 This time I did make a few changes, marinated the tomatoes in balsamic vinegar only (no oil) and mixed mayo and basil pesto with the parmesan for the spread. It is really good that way too. I always use foccacia bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Yummy! I made it on homemade sandwich rolls from this site. It was easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APHRODITEANDVINNY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Tasty. Ideal for evenings when sonething "light" is appropriate for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This was fantastic! I highly recommend it if you love tomatoes or not. I can't stop eating them. I make them for lunch and for dinner! I made them for my parents and they loved them too. I will make this recipe from here on out! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Yummy!!! Made these several times already. Love the mayo spread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a GREAT recipe! I don't like cheese, so I left it out, and the sandwich is still fantastic. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States