Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These were fantastic!! The mayo/parmesan mixture is a must. What a great blend of flavors...I wish I had made more for myself. When I took it out from under the broiler, there was quite a bit of liquid on top. I just soaked it up with a paper towel and it didn't compromise the taste at all. Next time I might try fat free mayo to cut down on the calories, but other than that these were awesome. Two thumbs up kat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I really really liked this. Didn't make any changes except to drizzle a little of the vinegar over the sandwiches as well. 4/11/03 This time I did make a few changes, marinated the tomatoes in balsamic vinegar only (no oil) and mixed mayo and basil pesto with the parmesan for the spread. It is really good that way too. I always use foccacia bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This was fantastic! I highly recommend it if you love tomatoes or not. I can't stop eating them. I make them for lunch and for dinner! I made them for my parents and they loved them too. I will make this recipe from here on out! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
TERRIFIC! I used one large average sliced tomato and had it on wheat bread. It made enough for three sandwiches so I totated 2 more pieces of bread. This would be great with a little shredded swiss added to the top before broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This was delicious! The mayo sauce added a great touch and the vinegar/olive oil mixture on the tomatoes was fantastic. I topped it off with a bit of mozzerella cheese on top before grilling and it was very nice. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a GREAT recipe! I don't like cheese, so I left it out, and the sandwich is still fantastic. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
These were incredible! The marinated tomatoes were delicious, and all the flavors blended so well. I made them on Dutch crunch rolls, and I couldn't imagine a better choice. I also added swiss cheese. Everyone in the family loved them! The next day I re-arranged the ingrediants and it was even better. I added pesto and spinach, and did an open faced sandwich so it was more like a pizza. I would make them this way from now on, but they're delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Yummy! I made it on homemade sandwich rolls from this site. It was easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aphrodite Sauser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Tasty. Ideal for evenings when sonething "light" is appropriate for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Yummy!!! Made these several times already. Love the mayo spread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States