Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great recipe. My kids loved it. I substituted the oil and vinegar with Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Used Italian bread, half the tomatoes, and slices of mozzarella cheese plus the mayo to create amazing open-faced sandwiches that made a great small lunch for 3 people. I did not have the parsley or olive oil, but kept everything else basically the same. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is very nice snack. Next time I would use a little less balsamic vinegar and mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
VERY GOOD and comes in handy for a quick fix - especially for my vegetarian hubby. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
VERY tasty. I'm giving it a 4 star b/c it was great, but didn't blow my socks off. However, I will definitely make this again. My husband really liked it, too. Made it exactly as written, only I used vine-ripened cherry tomatoes because the regular tomatoes at the store looked blah. I'd recommend this to a friend:) We had this with the Caesar Salad Supreme on this site (minus the anchovies) and it was a great combo! Thanks, Katia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Simple, but a great combination of flavors. I made mine in pita bread and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Super fantastic, easy and gourmet... No changes except added one minced garlic clove to the mayo mixture. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Delicious! While I love plain old toasted tomato + mayo sandwiches, this was a really nice change! Loved the mayo mix especially, will use it on other sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Wow! we absolutely loved these! I can only imagine what they will taste like in the summer when tomatoes are at their peak! Somehow I was out of parmesan cheese (don't know how that happened) so I made the mayo mixture without it, put it on sliced hoagie rolls and topped with thinly sliced provolone cheese, then tomatoes. Served open-faced and they were so delicious. I can't wait to make them with the parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wow! This takes a plain 'ol tomato sandwich to a whole new level with a nice Italian twist! I toasted some thick slices of Italian bread and added a bit of salt to the tomatoes. I decreased the amount of herbs in the mayo mixture a bit to taste. I also added some fresh basil over top of the tomatoes and a bit of mozzarella cheese along with the Parmesan. The balsamic marinade on the tomatoes really adds a nice tang to the sandwich - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States