Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I've made this many times and it never fails to impress. I dice the tomatoes (easier on the kiddos) and use fresh parmesan and have yet to find a nay-sayer on this. Recipe does not state how long to marinate tomatoes, but I've done everything from 15 minutes to using the leftovers on more broiled sandwiches the next day and it always tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Yummy. Delish as is, or easy to modify. Very quick and satasfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
For a lighter version, use low-cal whole wheat bread, farmer's cheese, and a lite mayo. I spread the mayo/spice mixture on 2 slices of bread, top with lettuce leaf, set aside. Put a slice of farmer's cheese on the other 2 slices of bread, top with the marinated tomato slices, sprinkle with parmesan, and broil as directed. Top broiled slices with cold slices. Serve with a fruit smoothie or cup of tomato soup. Very yummy, low-cal lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I tried this on bagels & added a slice of pastrami. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne England

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Made this on garlic 4 cheese Texas toast and just put the mayo/parm mix on top of the cheese after I toasted the toast. I added freeze dried basil but fresh would be better and added parmesean on top of the tomatoes. It was very good! If you have someone who has to have a protien a quick fix is a fried egg in between the bread and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
So simple, so good. After a few bites, husband was requesting we have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I have made this exactly as written and modified. I must admit I enjoyed a teaspoon of added garlic better. We were stunned as to how good this was. It is now a standard comfort food for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Perfect summer night food. Will make you feel full but not sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Liked it! Added fresh basil after broiling. We think it would be even better with blu cheese in place of parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Mmmmmm....used fresh garden tomatoes and good sourdough bread. My husband wasn't really keen on eating this but once he had it he said he can't wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love To Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States