Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Great sandwich. Second time I marinated the tomatoes in Italian Dressing, mixed mayo with Italian Seasonings and used shredded mozzarella. It came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Tobias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moonachie, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
4 1/2 stars. We loved the taste but found ourselves pulling the tomato skins off the slices as we ate these yummy sandwiches. Even better with a sprinkling of garlic in the mayo. I must say I was light with the amount of mayo and heavy handed with the Parmesan cheese on top. I like how the mayo melted into the toasted bread like butter when I spread it on, as I am not a huge mayo fan. I shared this recipe with my mom, who managed to serve it to my mayonaise-hating dad without him noticing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
My husband is usually picky about Italian flavors but he did like this one. I fixed it exactly as published and we really enjoyed the mix of flavors. Definitely going to fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very low in fat without the mayo and was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. My only problem was the tomatoes were very slippery and they tended to slip off the sandwich. But I didn't care. I just scooped what fell back onto the sandwich. The tomatoes were so sweet and flavorful and the mayo added so much. I used plain french bread, toasted, but I think if I had used a thicker bread, it would have been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Very quick and very delicious! One of the best tomato sandwiches I have ever tasted. My first try I didn't have the balsamic vinegar so just marinated in olive oil. It was very good but the next time I used both and it was fantastic. I did use sour dough bread and it really added to the taste. Excellent recipe would highly recommend for the tomato lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great recipe! I added chopped basil and oregano to the marinaade, used only 2 tomotoes and that was enough. Added an equal amount of shredded mozzarella to the cheese mixture. Doubled the marinade and used the leftover to drizzle over the finished open face sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Dee-lish! I modified a little, used Italian seasonings, pepercinio infused olive oil, and added shredded motzerrella cheese before placing tomatoes on top of toasted, sliced French baggets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was a big hit with my family. It was a big hit with me because it was so easy to make! I bought a loaf of uncut french bread from the bakery, cut it in half lengthwise and then into threes. I toasted them under the broiler, and then proceeded as the recipe called for, using the spread only on the top and using fresh tomatoes from our garden. It was a great side to the pork chops and salad that we had for dinner. I know this will be a frequent request in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States