Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I really liked this. I used cayenne powder instead Chinese 5 spice because I didn't have any. The sauce is a lot like the sauce on Chinese takeout sweet garlic ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Awesome recipe!! As for a previous reviewer's comment about the ratio of water to rice: it depends what kind of rice you make. Brown rice is 2c water for 1c rice, some sticky rice is 1c to 1c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koryu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is awesome! We just finished eating dinner and I got ablsolute raves from everyone (including 3 kids)! I had extra time so I marinated the chicken in orange juice and soy sauce. Don't know if it changed the outcome of the tast but it was delicious. Better than any local "chinese takeout" Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Wonderful... I followed the chicken recipe exactly...spicey, great flavour! But I cooked brown rice instead. (shouldn't your rice instuctions say 1 cup rice to 2 cups water?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Best thing i have ever made in my entire life and i can cook pretty good. This is actually better then if you go out and get orange chicken at the cheesecake factory wow we will be eating this on a regular basis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was delicious. I omitted the Chinese five spice and replaced it with cayenne pepper. Gives it a really nice spice. Served it over brown rice with pot stickers on the side. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
We enjoyed this dish. I took other's advice and doubled the sauce, ( I didn't double the red pepper flakes, though). Should have went with my gut and not used as much cornstarch slurry as it called for. I doubled it since I doubled the sauce and it was very thick and not very sauce like. Next time will slowly add in cornstarch slurry until I like the consistancy. I will make this again as it was quick and easy! Served with green beans and eggrolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this for my husband and he and I LOVED IT!. Made just as the recipe states, except, no garlic. We are allergic. (sad, I know) Thank you for this recipe...awesome!! Kellie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielskelliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This dish works great with tempeh. I only sprinkled in some red pepper flakes and also didn't use the cornstarch. Key is to simmer for a while so the tempeh soaks up the sauce. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this last night for my husband and we really liked it a lot. We weren't too sure by the smell of the Chinese 5 spice powder (has a licorice smell), but it was really tasty and I will definitely make again. I too did not use the cornstarch, the sauce was already really thick and it didn't seem necessary. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States