Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was a hit with my family! I doubled the sauce and used 2 lb boneless chicken thighs. I omitted the orange peel because I didn't have it on hand, otherwise followed the recipe as written. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This is a family favorite at our house. All 5 of my littles love it and even request it. I think it is much better when the sauce is doubled. If I want it a bit more spicy then I leave out the 5-spice powder and replace it with a Cajun mix. It tastes great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Definitely double the sauce. But what a great flavor! My hubby and I really enjoyed this recipe and I will absolutely be making it again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Pretty good recipe and easy too. I doubled the sauce and did not use as much red pepper and did not use the Chinese 5 spice either since I did not have any. It still had enough spice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
It was fine, not exceptional, but I don't think it was the recipe. i more than doubled the recipe (and even more sauce) and while trying to get the sauce to thicken the chicken got overcooked -- stewed, really. :( Next time would take out chicken to thicken sauce then toss with thickened sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
just the perfect combination of spicyness and sweetness. Wonderful recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Really liked this. Also doubled sauce but had no chinese spice - will buy some and try it next time. Nice change of pace and really quite easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This was so good, and so easy to make. A yummy meal, and it was all gone, no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I would make the following changes: Reduce the sugar by half, coat the chicken with cornstarch before cooking, reduce the pepper flakes, add chopped fresh basil, cut up the orange you used to get the orange zest and throw it in at the end. I didn't have the five spice powder, so I used ginger. This is very good, and uses available ingredients. I did double the sauce. It doesn't need to cook for 30 minutes, so it can be ready in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
So good!! I doubled the sauce, too. I didn't have 5-spice and don't like red pepper flakes, so those were omitted. Everything else was as written, and it was fantastic! No reason to go out to eat when you can make this at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Sparks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States