Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This recipe is excellent! I did take the advice of others and doubled the sauce. I also added a can of crushed pineapple. Turned out great. Thanks for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Been wanting to try this for a long time because the picture makes it look so good! I am so very disappointed that it does not taste as good as it looks. I followed the recipe except did not add orange zest or pepper flakes (had neither). Even adding those 2 ingredients would not have made it any better. Will not be making again. I'll stick with my own Asian Chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
good flavor, quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
PERFECT. This is the best Asian chicken recipe I've found. I didn't use the red pepper flakes or the 5 spice because I didn't have any. So I used ground red pepper and just a pinch because I didn't want it too spicy. And I added a little ground ginger. Will defiantly put this into our weekly menu and make extra for lunch the next day. I did the rice separately according to it's package directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Kunz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was a hit with my family! I doubled the sauce and used 2 lb boneless chicken thighs. I omitted the orange peel because I didn't have it on hand, otherwise followed the recipe as written. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This is a family favorite at our house. All 5 of my littles love it and even request it. I think it is much better when the sauce is doubled. If I want it a bit more spicy then I leave out the 5-spice powder and replace it with a Cajun mix. It tastes great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Definitely double the sauce. But what a great flavor! My hubby and I really enjoyed this recipe and I will absolutely be making it again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Pretty good recipe and easy too. I doubled the sauce and did not use as much red pepper and did not use the Chinese 5 spice either since I did not have any. It still had enough spice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
It was fine, not exceptional, but I don't think it was the recipe. i more than doubled the recipe (and even more sauce) and while trying to get the sauce to thicken the chicken got overcooked -- stewed, really. :( Next time would take out chicken to thicken sauce then toss with thickened sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
just the perfect combination of spicyness and sweetness. Wonderful recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States