Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I gave this 4 stars because although the taste was 5 stars, the portion size was way off! It said serves 6, it served 3 and barely! So if you try this recipe, definitely double the entire recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious! I love this recipe! It has become a regular on our menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I found this recipe to be very sweet with rather in-your-face flavor, nothing subtle about it. I knew it was aimed more at kids, so I knew my husband and I would both find it edible, but not a favorite. Problem was, neither our ten year old nor our seven year old cared for it at all. The older eats anything with ketchup on it, too, but this was too much sweetness even for him. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This was good. Totally satisfied my Chinese food takeout fix. Only changes I'd make would be to cut the sugar in half and use a bit less of the starch mixture. Also, it is a good idea to double the sauce. Otherwise really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My family really likes this dish. We have made this dish at least 5 times. Each time tweeking it a bit. I use boneless thighs instead of breasts or half and half. I double the sauce except I cut back on the red pepper and 5 spice to half of the original recipe. I add green onion to the chicken while browning and drain the chicken before adding the sauce. And I add peanuts and snap peas at the very end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Doubling the sauce is a must. Cornstarch is not needed. The sauce thickens up pretty quick. Next time, I will add snap peas or other vegetable. Otherwise, it looks too plain. I cut back on the sugar & it was a little too sweet for me with the Jasmine rice. Next time, I will try brown or regular rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I had almost the same result as cook ArianaMelodie. My sauce turned out almost black (really, really dark brown) and was incredibly strong. As in way, way, way too strong. It didn't just overpower the chicken -- it drowned it out. I followed the recipe exactly and it really didn't turn out good at all. My wife and two daughters also thought that it was way too strong. I don't think that I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Once a week I make meals for a large group (15 - 20.) I scaled this recipe up and it got rave reviews. Some of the group is vegetarian and I used fried tofu instead of chicken for the vegetarians - they gave it rave reviews also. Obviously the sauce is everything here. This recipe lends itself to all kinds of variations - add veggies (I add stir-fried broccoli and carrots to mine) and try using chicken broth instead of water for a richer sauce; use lemon zest instead of orange zest, stir-fry in peanut oil instead of olive oil, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mes8000
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was an amazing dish. Im 11 years old and i love to cook. This was very easy to prepare. i had my whole family try this and they agreed that it was very good to! Its very healthy for you and deserves five stars! Enjoy(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I thought when I read this recipe that we would love it. I made it today and, yes, yes yes, I was right: we love it! I followed the recipe exactly for the sauce, except I made triple. Did that because I had nearly double the amount of chicken. We found the flavor perfect! Lots of garlic, but don't be afraid, it tasted so good. I didn't have orange peel so omitted that. Omitted the Chinese 5 spice powder too. I added pineapple chunks because I like them in such recipes, but didn't add the juice as I wanted to follow the sauce recipe as written (apart from those items I didn't have). I did add more vegetables -- yellow and green peppers, onions, and carrots in addition to the green beans. Instead of crushed red pepper, I chopped a mild pepper and put it in. It was a bit zippy for me but my other half said it was the perfect hint of kick for him. Definitely a 5+ star recipe for us and we will be having it again and again. Easy to make, too. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States