Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Oh wow, this was delicious!!!! My only complaint? I didn't double the sauce like other reviewer's recommended!!! I followed the recipe with only 2 exceptions: I didn't have the 5-spice mix so I used cayanne and I didn't put orange peel in (didn't have an orange). My boyfriend LOVED the chicken(and he's picky) as did myself and my daughter (she had it on vegetarian chicken nuggets). This was a big hit in my house and I will def make it again! Great recipe, thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Doubled sauce other than Red Pepper Flakes and Garlic 6 rather than 8. Added carrots about 5 minutes into covered cooking and broccoli about 5 minutes later and it turned out awesome over rice. Needed about an extra tsp of corn starch to thicken it slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This was the perfect recipe for the day I tried it. I'm making this again tonight. I took the MissKori advice and coated the chicken in seasoned cornstarch (salt and pepper). I also removed the chicken after cooking and sprinkled it with sesame seed, then sauteed some bell peppers, then added the chicken and sauce to finish. Served over brown rice. I'm going to try it with quinoa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Love this with chicken and beef. I don't use the Chinese Five spice, just because I don't have it in my pantry or ever use it. Taste great even without it. I serve with fried rice and edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Super delicious! I garnished with cilantro and chopped peanuts. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Even adjusting for all the ' equivalent' foods, it's still taste good. I thought I thawed out chicken breasts, but it turned out to be thighs, didn't have oj but had my toddlers half finished tropical juice, didn't have 5 spices but had a random ' seasoning' on the shelf. Didn't add any chilli flakes, added some cabbage so we get some serving of vegetables. No ketchup but wanted to finish off the opened jar of tomato paste. Obviously, no peel too, as did not have the fruit. And it still turned out pretty tasty ==^.^== I took the double the sauce advice but end up using only around halved the corn starch thing, watched slowly, the consistency of the sauce change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Was good but very orangey. Maybe using fresh orange juice was a mistake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
LOVE this recipe. I make it regularly and usually double sauce. I prefer chicken thighs to breasts. Tonight I accidentally left out all the spices(!) and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is quite good. I doubled the sauce, but only used 1/3c. of brown sugar. I dredged the chicken chunks in cornstarch so as to avoid the last step and only browned them for about 2 min. Then I added the sauce and cooked, covered, for only 15 min. more. When done, I stirred in broccoli and red bell pepper that I cooked in the microwave for just a bit so it still had some crunch. The orange flavor in the sauce is good but pretty subtle. Served over basmati rice. *UPDATE* Made this again the same way I previously did but this time served it over quinoa, which I prefer. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
The was very good! Even my pickiest eater came back for seconds. I followed the other commenters' advice and halved the red pepper and doubled the sauce. We will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States