Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Great Recipe! I took other's advice and double the sauce. Also, I dusted already boiled chicken pieces with cornstarch and fried them until golden brown. This gave the chicken a little bit of crunchiness that mixes very well with the sauce. Thank you for an awesome and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Excellent recipe! This recipe is very usual on my weekday lunches: it’s not complicated, ingredients are easy to have on hand, and the taste is really amazing, I don’t add cornstarch and never miss it, you can skip this step easily. Also the chicken served without rice is an option for a low carb meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Amazing - first time for using Chinese 5-spice powder - love it. Made the Coconut Rice on this site instead of regular rice. Note, I forgot step 4 (it was on the back side of my print out) and it was still yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marissahopeneel
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is absolutely amazing! Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. I prepared the sauce the night before to save time. I ended up decreasing the amount of chicken by half so there'd be enough sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I gave this 4 stars because although the taste was 5 stars, the portion size was way off! It said serves 6, it served 3 and barely! So if you try this recipe, definitely double the entire recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious! I love this recipe! It has become a regular on our menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I found this recipe to be very sweet with rather in-your-face flavor, nothing subtle about it. I knew it was aimed more at kids, so I knew my husband and I would both find it edible, but not a favorite. Problem was, neither our ten year old nor our seven year old cared for it at all. The older eats anything with ketchup on it, too, but this was too much sweetness even for him. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This was good. Totally satisfied my Chinese food takeout fix. Only changes I'd make would be to cut the sugar in half and use a bit less of the starch mixture. Also, it is a good idea to double the sauce. Otherwise really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States