Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
fantastic recipe. i did not add cornstarch to the sauce to thicken, found it reduced fine on its own, though coating the chicken in cornstarch did help to thicken everything and bring the dish together. personally found it a bit to sweet, going to lessen the sugar and add a bit more spice to it next go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was very good. I doubled the sauce as others suggested. The complainers must be very picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Delicious!! I also doubled the sauce to put the extra over rice. Lots of green onions cut into 1" pieces added at the end is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDERS70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Yum! This had some heat to it and I may make it a little less spicy next time (my 2 year old ate it but he required two glasses of milk to cool his mouth off). I didn't have the special Chinese spice, so I just added a bit of ginger. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Its just so different and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devoni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I really liked this recipe but because I did not follow it exactly I did not give it 5 stars. Like others I tossed the chicken in cornstarch and then cooked it in oil. Once the chicken was done I poured the sauce over the chicken and let it thicken up which only took about 15 minutes. I also doubled the sauce recipe. I did not have the Chinese 5 spice powder but we did not seem to miss it. What I really liked about the ingredience for the sauce is that they are staples I keep in my cupboard. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
ok so this was amazing ! i got halfway through then realized i had no rice so put about half cup of water in and some spiral pasta and it was a hit even with the fussy 2 year old :) this will def be my go to when i am craving Chinese takeaways SO CHEAP to make too :D oh and i doubled the sauce mixture too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have tried this recipe a few times, I triple the sauce because we like extra. This does take about an hour from start to finish but doesn't most dinner's. I will make this again and again! JJNKC I did add orange marmalade instead of orange rind, worked just a well and had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Parkville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Doubled the sauce. Used rice from my rice cooker. I marinated the chicken in OJ for a few hours before cooking. Family scarfed it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States