Mama's Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I really enjoyed it. I can't say the same for all of my guests, but maybe I served it at the wrong time of year. I chose because it had ingredients that i really like. Next time i'll serve it for a summer barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
THANK-YOU . . . my ex's mother used to make this all the time and I LOVED it . . . and now I finally have teh recipe! the only thing different was use the colored mini marshmallows! BUT the sour cream is key, I like it sooo much better than whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This is exactly the ambrosia recipe I was looking for! One caveat, however: if you're making this for a family or party, the idea that the recipe would "serve 10" seems preposterous to me. Maybe 10 little kids. Or 10 people who have a lot of other food choices and will only take little helpings of ambrosia. But not 10 people who, like me and my family, see a bowl full of ambrosia, get excited, and take great, healthy helpings of the stuff in anticipation of it being gone by the time they go back for seconds. For that lot, better make more. I wouldn't necessarily double the whole recipe, however. It's got plenty of mandarin oranges; maybe just double the fruit salad, put in 1 1/2 times the recommended marshmallows and coconut, and use 12-14 oz of sour cream instead of 8. (I don't do the nuts.) Adding some red grapes or pineapple chunks can also work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Fantastic! Thank you so much for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I have been searching for this recipe for years! It was so easy to make, my family loved it! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Added some cherries and took out the nuts. Very yummy!! I've been looking for a good and easy recipe that had sour cream instead of Cool Whip and this was it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Perfect ambrosia in my opinion!! There are many ways to make this - including those recipes that use cool whip instead of sour cream (too sweet for me) - but I made the right choice going with this one, it's just right. I used Fat Free sour cream and enjoyed this as a healthy TREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYSPINELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Quick and easy to make. Very tasty. Will whip up again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a new favorite in my household. My 1 year old ate it up and begged for more. Simple, yummie and easy clean up! Just the right amount of sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This is THE BEST ambrosia recipe out there! Exactly like my grandfather made for years every Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Grand Marnier Soufflé

See how to make an airy and impressive but surprisingly simple dessert.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States