Mama's Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe. I use 1 29 oz can of mandarin oranges, and 1 30 oz can of fruit cocktail instead of the smaller cans. I also use only 1 cup of coconut, a whole 16oz container of sour cream, and a little more marshmallows- prob. about 3 cups instead of 2. I have tried with walnuts and pecans, but prefer the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMSWEB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very yummy! Easy to make. Try using 1 can of chunked pineapple in place of one of the fruit cocktail cans. Sweet salad but that's what ambrosia is all about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
All I am going to say is Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I have made this ambrosia twice now. It is my favorite ambrosia recipe! I use pecans instead of walnuts and light sour cream (personal preference). Unlike recipes using cool whip, this one tastes light and fresh and isn't overpowered with sweetness. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I'm sorry this was an awful recipe. I made it for a baby shower and only one person ate it. After sitting in the frig for a short time it looked like bad (it was not appetizing looking at all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen in Maryland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sykesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
My grandchildren loved the ambrosia, but without the walnuts. We made it on a very hot humid day and it was a perfect compliment to grilled food. It is a good recipe for the children to make and will become part of our vacation menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This recipe is amazing. I served it for easter dinner and everyone loved it. I added 1 can of chunk pinapple drained and a serving spoon of cool-whip, but would have been good without those things too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I really enjoyed it. I can't say the same for all of my guests, but maybe I served it at the wrong time of year. I chose because it had ingredients that i really like. Next time i'll serve it for a summer barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This is exactly the ambrosia recipe I was looking for! One caveat, however: if you're making this for a family or party, the idea that the recipe would "serve 10" seems preposterous to me. Maybe 10 little kids. Or 10 people who have a lot of other food choices and will only take little helpings of ambrosia. But not 10 people who, like me and my family, see a bowl full of ambrosia, get excited, and take great, healthy helpings of the stuff in anticipation of it being gone by the time they go back for seconds. For that lot, better make more. I wouldn't necessarily double the whole recipe, however. It's got plenty of mandarin oranges; maybe just double the fruit salad, put in 1 1/2 times the recommended marshmallows and coconut, and use 12-14 oz of sour cream instead of 8. (I don't do the nuts.) Adding some red grapes or pineapple chunks can also work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
THANK-YOU . . . my ex's mother used to make this all the time and I LOVED it . . . and now I finally have teh recipe! the only thing different was use the colored mini marshmallows! BUT the sour cream is key, I like it sooo much better than whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Grand Marnier Soufflé

See how to make an airy and impressive but surprisingly simple dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States