Mama's Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Been making this for years. Replace the the friut cocktail with 1 can of crashed pineapple and add frozen strawberries thawed with half the juice drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Quick easy recipe and delicious, even my 4 year old was helping. Changes I made: only added 1/2 the sour cream added 4 ounces of frozen whipped cream(the tub kind) only added a 7 ounce bag of coconut, I think 2 cups would be way too much. yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this before and it was a hit. There was hardly any left when I went to try it. Very good and will make for Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was okay but I prefer cool whip instead of sour cream (makes it tangy!) and forget the coconut or don't add too much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This turned out amazing. Definatly, the sour cream makes this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My grandma use to make ambrosia salad every holiday when I was younger. I used this recipe to help refresh my memory in making it. Very similar to my grandmother's ambrosia, however I did not add walnuts and I included a can of pineapples in the fruit mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My only complaint was there wasn't more! My family loved it. The only thing we changed was put only half the can of fruit cocktail and subbed the other half with pineapple which we prefer. it was quick and so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My wife's family loved it during this past holiday dinner. The variation we did was to leave out the nuts and flaked coconut, and add in slices maraschino cherries. No leftovers for the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This recipe was amazing! It was fast and easy and delicious and CHEAP. I left out the nuts due to allergies, but everything else was really great. I was not too sure about the sour cream ingredient, but it tasted so sweet that it seemed almost like whipped topping. I used fat free sour cream to cut down on the calories. I will be bringing Ambrosia Salad to all pot luck's I go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Love this! I don't like mandarin oranges so I left those out and used the very cherry fruit cocktail. So happy I have left overs to eat up all for myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States