Mama's Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The sour cream is the only way to go..the coconut provides all the sweetness necessary!! I like to add the nuts right before I serve it...they can get a little bitter. ...super good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I've been hoping to find a recipe for this for several years because it's so good. Found recipe here and made it for a potluck group of about 25. I used Cool Whip. It was delicious, and it vanished quickly. It was a huge success. -- Spryte
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Suddenly, I had a craving for this! Wow, super yummy! I omitted the coconut and nuts but added chopped apples, crushed pineapple, halved cherries!! Loved it even more when I omitted the fruit salad and just added chopped peaches and halved green grapes to the oranges, apples, cherries and pineapple! I also increased the amount of marshmallows and doubled the sour cream because there was so much more fruit I had added. Who knew that the marshmallows melt into the sour cream and make a yummy fluffy texture. Oh, I'm going to be making this a lot!! I have since made this several times and even used canned fruit salad and its still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This is completely awesome! was trying to avoid the whip topping versions for something that focused on fruit flavor rather than sugar. Really REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Happy Acres

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Good, even without the marshmallows. I want to try toasting the coconut next time before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This recipe is so versatile! I used grapes cut in half, strawberries, mandarin oranges, banana, and chunks of pineapple- it was so delicious! It's a very forgiving recipe, and don't be weary of the sour cream. It turns out just right! Yum! :) It's not too sweet but just sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
A good base recipe-but I give it 5 stars anyways.2 bananas,2 apples,1 can pineapple,grapes,1 can mandarin oranges,2 x 1/4 cup of sour cream,1 container of lite cool whip a few squeezes of lime juice,4 handfuls of mini marshmellows-1 box of pistachio pudding.Wow-yummy.Going to make it again this summer,it made a good size bowl of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Pretty good. Needs oranges doubled and I don't know what else...something just seems to be missing! Make sure to get a "high quality" mix of fruit, as this dish obviously depends on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This recipe is amazing!! We make it every year for Thanksgiving and theres never any leftovers! One thing we do differently is add a box of pistachio pudding mix to it. It adds extra flavor and makes it even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States