Mama's Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
There are many recipes for this dish but this one is just perfect! I like using the fruit cocktail instead of just pineapple and oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by froglady1965

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made this for Easter dinner. Out of this world delicious! The difference is using sour cream instead cool whip. It was a big hit and for sure a "keeper." I did follow a few reviews and added some red grapes, few cherries, and few pineapple chunks for a more variety of fruit. Although I halved the recipe, I did still used a whole cup of sour cream (it wasn't too much). It was perfect! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is easy to make and is delicious. Only thing I do differently is to add fresh green grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
We substituted Cabot vanilla bean Greek yogurt for the sour cream and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The sour cream is the only way to go..the coconut provides all the sweetness necessary!! I like to add the nuts right before I serve it...they can get a little bitter. ...super good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I've been hoping to find a recipe for this for several years because it's so good. Found recipe here and made it for a potluck group of about 25. I used Cool Whip. It was delicious, and it vanished quickly. It was a huge success. -- Spryte
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Suddenly, I had a craving for this! Wow, super yummy! I omitted the coconut and nuts but added chopped apples, crushed pineapple, halved cherries!! Loved it even more when I omitted the fruit salad and just added chopped peaches and halved green grapes to the oranges, apples, cherries and pineapple! I also increased the amount of marshmallows and doubled the sour cream because there was so much more fruit I had added. Who knew that the marshmallows melt into the sour cream and make a yummy fluffy texture. Oh, I'm going to be making this a lot!! I have since made this several times and even used canned fruit salad and its still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This is completely awesome! was trying to avoid the whip topping versions for something that focused on fruit flavor rather than sugar. Really REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Happy Acres

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Good, even without the marshmallows. I want to try toasting the coconut next time before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This recipe is so versatile! I used grapes cut in half, strawberries, mandarin oranges, banana, and chunks of pineapple- it was so delicious! It's a very forgiving recipe, and don't be weary of the sour cream. It turns out just right! Yum! :) It's not too sweet but just sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Grand Marnier Soufflé

See how to make an airy and impressive but surprisingly simple dessert.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States