Mamacita's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This was incredibly flavorful! The carrots add just a hint of sweetness that sets this recipe apart. I can see this becoming a staple in my home. I did have the saffron and followed the recipe as written except to leave the peas out since the children I was cooking for do not like them. They loved this rice though and both had second helpings. Thank you, Armi and thank Mamacita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Omg! My man who is Hispanic was really happy I found a Mexican rice recipe. Very very good. This doesn't even compare with restaurant rice. I didn't have chicken broth so I used Maggi. it still was really good. Will use the broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della La-la Bella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was really good! I paired it with a black bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. Mexican Saffron isn't expensive. Its the first recipe that called for Mexican saffron and I had bought some and I was excited to use it.. This dish is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
We really liked this recipe. I have had problems finding a recipe for the dish as we like it, and this one just about nailed it. I had to substitute for what I had on hand since I decided to make this last minute, but it turned out great. I didn't have a tomato on hand (don't buy those out of season) so I used some pureed tomatoes and cut back on the broth just a bit to compensate for the additional liquid. And I didn't have saffron on hand so I used a bit of adobo seasoning and some turmeric for color. I used a very large clove of garlic, and I ommitted the cumin. It takes very little of that for us, and the adobo seasoning had plenty for our tastes. And lastly, I used basmati rice, again what I had on hand. I will definitely make this again; I don't need to look any further for recipes! Thanks, Armi, to you and your MIL for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I thought it was excellent, I did not use Saffron or peas and carrots just aded a little more garlic, texture was wonderful, very inexpensive meal, and delicious, Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Delicious recipe, but it defintely needs more water and to be cooked longer. I used vegetable broth, as we are vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I threw everything into my rice cooker, and let it do its thing. Love my rice cooker!!!! Didn't need the vegetable oil, and I never add extra salt to anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made Mexican Rice III from AR to go with an easy green enchilada casserole I made. It was okay but I was looking for a tastier option. I did not care for the Mamcita's Rice at all. The flavors were too strong and did not have an authentic Mexican flavor at all. I used the turmeric as I didn't have the saffron (don't stock it due to the price). Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Penryn, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We found this quite bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States