Mamacita's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by eileen
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
WOW this rice is delicious! I subbed some Trader Joe's fire roasted corn for the carrots, due to what I had on hand, but otherwise followed the recipe verbatim. The taste was incredible! Went perfectly with my Adobo steak, onions & peppers, I can't wait to make it again! Gracias Armi y Mamacita :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
EXCELLENT! I added the peas and carrots in w/ everything else, and used tumeric (Thanks, naples34102 for the idea!) in place of the saffron, b/c I didn't have any. Great flavor and super quick to make. I will def be using this recipe again and again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was excellent and easy to customize to your family's tastes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I’m so pleased to have come across this untried recipe and be the first not only to review it, but to rate it highly. This is a winner. It’s rich, flavorful and colorful, not to mention just plain interesting. A LOT more interesting, in fact, than the typical tomato-based Mexican rice. I stayed true to the recipe save for the carrots, which I only omitted because I don’t care for them. Saffron, the most expensive spice as I know of, has a unique and characteristic flavor and color that really can’t be duplicated, tho’ turmeric would work as a more economical substitute. I made this to accompany Slow Cooker Guisado Verde and Skillet Summer Squash, both recipes also from this site. It was a beautiful and uncommonly delicious meal, in large part because of this beyond the ordinary Mexican rice. Mamacita, no doubt, is a darn fine cook. Thanks, Armi, for sharing her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I thought it was excellent, I did not use Saffron or peas and carrots just aded a little more garlic, texture was wonderful, very inexpensive meal, and delicious, Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I didn't have any saffron so I used turmeric and it turned out really nice - everybody from my picky teen to my not feeling well mum thought it was just peachy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Just like Mexico!!! Second time making I added diced raw carrots and Celery to the water when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicioso! The reviewers that found this lacking in taste most likely did not add enough salt for their palate. Perfect rice by following the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
ABSOLUTELY GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecats420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I threw everything into my rice cooker, and let it do its thing. Love my rice cooker!!!! Didn't need the vegetable oil, and I never add extra salt to anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States