Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I read most of the reviews before I tried this, and I am glad I did. The oven temp was WAY too high and the time was WAY too long. Lower the temp to 350, and time it for 25 minutes and go from there. The loaves in regular loaf pans is going to take a little longer, closer to 35 minutes, but longer Italian style loaves will be done much sooner. I did put a pan of hot water in the bottom of the oven, but not because I read it here, I bake bread quite often and have used that method for a long long while. I did take some leftover dough, rolled it out in a big circle, filled the middle with pepperoni and mozzarella cheese, folded it back over and baked it for 25 minutes, ugly, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I have never been this successful at making bread before! Very easy, except no cook time mentioned. 20 minutes was good for mine, but I used a meat thermometer & checked when it reached 200 inside as suggested by a comment. Excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I only made a third of the recipe. Because of time constraints, I didn’t do a double rise before shaping the loaf, just a single rise. Also, I omitted the fifteen minute wait before adding the salt and remaining flour. I didn’t bother spraying the loaf; I simply put a pan of water in the bottom of the oven. So despite these short cuts, the bread came out excellent and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Laura Reichartz
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Just tried highly impressive. I cut the recipe in half, just my hubby and myself. He'd been whining about wanting me to try an Italian bread I told him I'd see what I could do! Wire. Great easy recipe to follow. I thought oh no crust is too dark it's going to be hard. Nothing could be farther from the truth. It's slightly crunchy and a pillowy inside. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Easy for me since I'm a beginner at breads. Also implemented advice from the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I am not an expert in bread making, but this recipe is the easiest I've tried. Thank you Mama D for this delicious bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaDonna Castagan
Home Town: Hiddenite, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
It was a good bread. I split it into two loaves (instead of three) and decreased the temp to 375 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Definitely a much shorter cook time is recommended at 450. I like 20-25minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
The perfect Italian bread. I made this because I wanted to make garlic bread tonight and it'll be perfect for that or for sandwiches. I agree with some other reviewers that the directions aren't great even though the recipe turned out great (and I'm a novice at baking). The biggest thing is not having any times for any of the steps. You kind of just have to trust your instincts with it. After all the rising mine only took 15 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Really very good recipe. I had never made bread before. I did read some reviews to get a better idea of the directions. But even on the first try it came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States