Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Super! i usually make this on the weekend for the family to have nice fresh bread and it definately only lasts the weekend. Thanks for the recipe. PS - I mix/knead the dough in my bread maker (on the dough seting) and then do the 2nd rising in loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Thank you so much, it's our new favorite. I've even saved the dough in the fridge for 2 days to let the gluten develop and made wonderful pizza dough with it. Oooh, and rolled it out with butter, cheddar cheese and deli ham for breakfast rolls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Was REALLY wet. didn't think it would come out ok, but was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Excelent, extremely tasty. Had to guess on baking time. For the benifit of those viewing, at 450 degrees it took about 15 minutes give or take to produce a crusty outside, and chewy inside. Very much like you'd find at great Italian restaurants. Top notch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Loved the recipe. This came out perfect and everyone enjoyed this bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe McFee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I've never successfully made a crusty bread before today- this was amazing! I didn't even spritz water in the oven or put a pan of water in the bottom as suggested. It was amazingly soft and chewy with a delightful crust. Will DEFinitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach2815

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
We live in Georgia, having moved from CT in June 2011. We have not been able to find the perfect italian bread anywhere near where we live. The bakeries around here are primarily in the grocery store. I tried this recipe and found I can make Italian bread. Its texture and taste are like New York bakery style bread. I also used this recipe to make NY style hardrolls with Poppy seeds. OH MAN!! Still miss our roots in CT but this receipe is like being home. Thanks Mama D... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IDALYZME
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
YUM...AFTER BREAD HAS COOLED, I SLICE, ADD BUTTER, GARLIC SALT AND SHREDDED MILD CHEDDAR CHEESE...I PUT IT UNDER THE BROILER UNTIL CHEESE HAS MELTED AND SERVE WITH LASAGNA...IT'S GREAT...THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDALYZME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Baking directions not clear no time is stated for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I worked on this all day. First batch didn't rise, now second batch has not risen. What a waste of a bag of flour. I had really high hopes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States