Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Was REALLY wet. didn't think it would come out ok, but was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Excelent, extremely tasty. Had to guess on baking time. For the benifit of those viewing, at 450 degrees it took about 15 minutes give or take to produce a crusty outside, and chewy inside. Very much like you'd find at great Italian restaurants. Top notch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Loved the recipe. This came out perfect and everyone enjoyed this bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I've never successfully made a crusty bread before today- this was amazing! I didn't even spritz water in the oven or put a pan of water in the bottom as suggested. It was amazingly soft and chewy with a delightful crust. Will DEFinitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach2815

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
We live in Georgia, having moved from CT in June 2011. We have not been able to find the perfect italian bread anywhere near where we live. The bakeries around here are primarily in the grocery store. I tried this recipe and found I can make Italian bread. Its texture and taste are like New York bakery style bread. I also used this recipe to make NY style hardrolls with Poppy seeds. OH MAN!! Still miss our roots in CT but this receipe is like being home. Thanks Mama D... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IDALYZME
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
YUM...AFTER BREAD HAS COOLED, I SLICE, ADD BUTTER, GARLIC SALT AND SHREDDED MILD CHEDDAR CHEESE...I PUT IT UNDER THE BROILER UNTIL CHEESE HAS MELTED AND SERVE WITH LASAGNA...IT'S GREAT...THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDALYZME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Baking directions not clear no time is stated for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I worked on this all day. First batch didn't rise, now second batch has not risen. What a waste of a bag of flour. I had really high hopes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made a loaf at 4 oclock, it was done by 6 and was gone by 7. Absolutely, hands down the best bread I have ever made. I will only make this bread now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I used this recipe as a base and it came out really well. I added a few tablespoons of flax seed, substituted 2 of the cups of all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour, and folded the dough instead of kneading it after every rest. I put a pan of boiling water under the baking sheet, and didn't have to mist the bread while cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States