Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Made this with Slow Cooker Lasagna. 4 out of 5 children loved the bread. Easy and good recipe. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley4jc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
VERY good. This bread turns out delicious! Very easy (once you figure out the directions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salanco16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I followed this recipe to the letter and I had 3 loaves of good Italian bread, however it says "cook 1 hour" and that turned out to be false, I checked mine at 20 minutes and it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I decreased the recipe to make one loaf. It was smaller than anticipated but exactly the texture and consistency I was looking for. Will definetly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Great bread. I'd have given it 5 stars, but I changed what I did based on other peoples' comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is the second time I made this recipe and it turned out 5x better than the first time I made it. This (2nd) time, I took the tip to mist the bread every 3 minutes for the first 10 minutes. Although, I didn't have a spray bottle, so I just sprayed water with my fingers over the bread every 3 minutes for 10 minutes.. I also followed the other tip of putting a hot pan of water in the oven to create humidity. These two tips helped this recipe dramatically. Just enjoyed 2 slices right out of the oven with butter - omgosh so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Fantastic bread. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Very good bread! Easy and delicious! It could use a bit more salt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
made in a bread machine, very easy dough to work with, came out crusty on the outside and chewy inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I give this recipe 4 stars. The bread was very good, however, as others have stated, the directions could have been better! Having only made bread a few times without a bread machine, I was surprised at how long it actually took the dough to rise. Some additional information concerning times would have come in handy. I actually pared down the recipe to 12 servings which made one rather large loaf of bread. It was more than enough to serve with dinner for four adults and a child. Thirty minutes on a pizza stone in a 450 degree oven was perfect. I didn't have a spray bottle to mist with water, so I simply put a pyrex pan with some water on the lower rack to keep the oven moist. Overall, very good bread. I'd love to make another batch and use for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States