Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Loved it! Made it for a party and received great reviews. I followed the directions to the letter except that I fudged on the time needed. When operating on a time crunch, waiting for the dough to rise THREE times is a little painful. However, all's well that ends well and guests loved it! I made three loaves of different sizes, large medium, small and they all came out beautifully. The dough is a little difficult to work with because it's sticky, but all in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Ok here is the low down! Read the most helpful as it will really make a difference. Secondly don't forget the dipping sauce whether it be evoo and balsamic vinegar or a meat sauce that is left over from the World's Best Lasagna recipe. Again read the most helpful reviews as the directions are aloft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
The first time I made the bread I had a couple of different issues - old yeast and I didn't wait long enough for the loaves to rise. The second time I followed the instructions of some of the other reviewers and got GREAT results! Here's what I did that worked well for me: Heated 3 cups of water until it was 110 degrees with an instant-read thermometer. Dissolved the sugar and yeast thoroughly and waited. the first time I got very little bubbling after 15 minutes, but assumed any bubbling was good so I went with it - which was a mistake. The second time I used new yeast and it was foamy within 5 minutes. For the flour, I used Caputo "00" flour. The 2.2 lb bag was PERFECT as I used exactly that much for the recipe by the end of it. 4 Cups into the KitchenAid stand mixer with the paddle attachment, along with the water. I let it mix on #2 until it looked like pancake batter and then let it sit for 15 minutes. I kept the paddle on and beat in the salt and 2-1/2 cups of flour at #2 until it was all mixed together (scraping the sides of the mixing bowl occasionally). Replaced the paddle for the dough hook and then added in the last 1/2 cup of flour. Locked down the mixer and kneaded on #2 until it looked smooth and wasn't sticking to the sides anymore. I think I let it knead for about 5 - 7 minutes. Etc... etc... Most important tip... WAIT for the loaves to rise! Touch them lightly with finger - if they spring back, not risen enough. If they stay indented - bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I've used this recipe before. The bread is yummy. The direction are not specific enough i.e. # 5 how long do you let it rise. # 6 about how long do you let it bake ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Agreed on the directions being kind of strange. I cut the recipe down to 2 loaves. I only let it rise once before forming loaves, and couldn't let it quite rise for another hour due to time constraints. I took the advice of many here and put a pan of water in with the bread. I also used a pizza stone to cook the loaves on. The bread turned out more dark brown than golden, so I think I will cook it at a lower temperature for a little longer. Very good recipe though. My friends who have spent considerable amounts of time in Europe absolutely loved this bread (and talked about how much it was like the bread they had over there).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakamaeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now and have to say its a great basic italian bread. I put Garlic powder 1 tbls. And 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese in the second batch. You put it in after the 4 cups of flour. Wow was it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I have used this recipe several times and I love it very much. The loaves always turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Easy and delicious. Bread was crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. Did not have a bottle to mist with, so I lightly sprinkled water before baking and put a pan of water in the bottom of the oven. As stated in other reviews, I needed approx. 2 cups additional flour to stiffen the dough. Loved this bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Great Bread! Make sure to mist with water every 5-7 minutes. It makes it crispy on the outside. I used bread flour and it was spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I just made this bread and it was delicious! I agree with others that separating the dough after the first rise isn't necessary since it will become one big ball again during the second rise. I also didn't have any cornmeal so I just sprinkled some grated parmesan cheese on the pan instead. I baked it for about 30 minutes but next time I'll check it at 20 or 25 minutes. I can't wait to turn this into pesto bruschetta for Sunday dinner. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotMama16

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States