Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Easy recipe. Good bread. I make small loaves for hero's . I only spray them one time after five minutes and I keep a water pan in the bottom of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Vito

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Baking this bread at 450 degrees F was a disaster. The second time, I baked it at 350 degrees for 55 minutes and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I moved to NC from NY and couldn't find real Italian bread down here. I came across your recipe and YOU nailed it! AMAZING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This make a great Italian bread. My suggestion for anyone who is not an experience bread maker is : Make your first loaf with 4 cups of flour. This gives you a good size loaf. When making any bread, do not add all of the water called for at first. I started with 1 cup of warm water into which I had proofed my yeast with 1 tsp sugar. (If your yeast is fresh, I still wait 5 minutes till I see bubbles form on the top; with instant yeast this happens very quickly.) Add the yeast/water to the flour and mix with a wooden spoon or by hand. Keep adding a little bit of water after that at a time and keep mixing until the entire flour mixture sticks together. You want all the flour in the bowl and for the mixture to stop sticking to your hand. If you wind up with too much water, add more flour till the dough is no longer sticky but feels smooth and satiny to your hand. Do not overKnead or tough can become tough. Coat with olive oil and then put plastic wrap on the dough and cover with a towel. Let Rise. Punch down after an hour. No need to take out of bowl. Let it Rise again, 30 min or so; Remove from bowl, gently flatten into rectangle, fold bottom third up, top third down, and then fold in the left and right edges to form a loaf. Turn over and let rise once more. Then bake on baking tray. I put water in oven and you can also mist it but its not necessary. The basic recipe is great. You just have to play with the technique that works best for you. MineHad a great yeasty taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I've been making bread of over 40 years. Way too much yeast. Way too little flour. And the divide into 3 several times for no reason whatsoever. The recipe would be closer with 2 cups of warm water rather than 3. There is so much yeast that it works way to fast to allow this mixture of ingredients to rise properly. I read one review that was accurate regarding that issue where the user had dough that was flat and spread out over the pan rather than high like a loaf of bread. If you follow this recipe you will not have bread or anything resembling bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Baking on a pizza stone makes this bread even better. Just let it rise on parchment paper that has been sprayed with cooking spray and sprinkled with semolina flour. Place parchment paper directly on preheated pizza stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Sooo delicious! So easy! I made this today for the first time. I followed the suggestions to bake for 20 minutes and it needed just a few minutes more. Thank you! Made this bread again today, again a tasty winner! My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone is still raving about it. I actually cut the recipe in half and made one loaf. Best bread recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
1.5.14 - Made this bread for bruschetta. I completely forgot to add salt, but I still have high hopes for it! It just came out of the oven, and the loaves are HUGE! I usually can't get this much rise out of bread. (All rises were done in an oven that had baked muffins not too long before.) Per Gray: Coat with oil, place in a bowl, cover and let rise until doubled. INSTEAD OF KNEADING THE LIVING TAR OUT OF THE DOUGH, gently but firmly smoosh the dough out, fold in thirds and press with your palm, fold in thirds and press, fold in thirds and press. Form a ball, coat, cover, and let rise again. Divide into two or three loaves (we prefer two larger loaves), fold and press again and shape for final rise. Score the loaves, spritz 'em with water, and slide 'em on into the oven. Pour some water into a preheated pan under the loaves for steam and quickly shut the door (no need for opening and spritzing!). A baking stone REALLY helps with the crust texture. I also love using those perforated "professional" loaf pans (sans cornmeal, of course). Per LDALLAS: First rise: 1 hr in oven with only light on Second rise: 30 min, same conditions Loaf rise: 30 min, same conditions Then preheat oven and bake at 450F for approx. 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Easy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly but not the baking instructions. I sprayed with water every three minutes for the first 10 minutes and then baked for an additional 25 at 425 with a bowl of water in the oven. After that I did not turn the bread or wet anymore. The bread was moist, the crust was crunchy and it was outstanding overall. As with any bread, it's time consuming. Perfect for a day at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milltown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States