Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Really good! I was lazy and did not knead the bread at all - just mixed energetically with a spoon for a few minutes and it was still good. It perhaps did not rise as high as it otherwise would have but tasted great! I am on holidays in another country where it is not easy to get nice bread, so it was an extra bonus. Thank you! People's additional suggestions and advice were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I used Gold Medal All Purpose flour and for the three cups of water adding 7 cups of flour is not sufficient to get a stiff dough. I found myself adding more flour trying to get it to stiffen up before I just gave up and used it as is. I used a dough hook with a stand mixer and after adding what looked like one additional cup of flour (total of 8) the dough was still wet and sticky....very hard to handle. The splitting of the dough into three parts I surmised was for 3 separate loaves so I put them in 3 separate bowls. My breads did not rise much which I attribute to a problem with my yeast. For me the finished product had a very hard shell but the inside was pretty good although bland. I think the recipe should call for more salt added to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan Casero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Love it! Comes out perfectly every time! I'm making some right now, it's my go-to for italian bread. This is probably the 5th or 6th time I've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni F Tate Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ETremblayLovesToBake
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
A Perfect Italian loaf!!! After reading this recipe I was hesitant due to the lack of ingredients but decided to give it a whirl because of the number of reviews. Let me start by saying my husband thought I bought it at a bakery. With its Crispy flaky outside and it's tender airy chewy insides and just tang for flavor this bread was a perfect accompaniment to the gumbo I made for dinner. Quite honestly it was just perfect by itself 2 slices after my dinner was already eaten. Instructions were followed to the letter and I couldn't be happier. So tired of ending up with dense hockey puck leaves that no one wants the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Easy to follow and fantastic results. It was the first time I really felt I'd gotten a crust "right"! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I read most of the reviews before I tried this, and I am glad I did. The oven temp was WAY too high and the time was WAY too long. Lower the temp to 350, and time it for 25 minutes and go from there. The loaves in regular loaf pans is going to take a little longer, closer to 35 minutes, but longer Italian style loaves will be done much sooner. I did put a pan of hot water in the bottom of the oven, but not because I read it here, I bake bread quite often and have used that method for a long long while. I did take some leftover dough, rolled it out in a big circle, filled the middle with pepperoni and mozzarella cheese, folded it back over and baked it for 25 minutes, ugly, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I have never been this successful at making bread before! Very easy, except no cook time mentioned. 20 minutes was good for mine, but I used a meat thermometer & checked when it reached 200 inside as suggested by a comment. Excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I only made a third of the recipe. Because of time constraints, I didn’t do a double rise before shaping the loaf, just a single rise. Also, I omitted the fifteen minute wait before adding the salt and remaining flour. I didn’t bother spraying the loaf; I simply put a pan of water in the bottom of the oven. So despite these short cuts, the bread came out excellent and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Laura Reichartz
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Just tried highly impressive. I cut the recipe in half, just my hubby and myself. He'd been whining about wanting me to try an Italian bread I told him I'd see what I could do! Wire. Great easy recipe to follow. I thought oh no crust is too dark it's going to be hard. Nothing could be farther from the truth. It's slightly crunchy and a pillowy inside. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Easy for me since I'm a beginner at breads. Also implemented advice from the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States