Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
First time making bread ever, the recipe needs to give rising times! I like how much bread it made, but mine also was very flat compared to tall. was delicious though and very moist, I only used 6.5 cups of flour and I added italian spices to the dough which was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlynlyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
My husband makes this regularly and always gets tons of praise for this delicious bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Good Italian bread. Makes 3 loaves. If using all purpose flour, you may need to add about 2 more cups more than the recipe says. I it cooked closer to 30 min instead of an hour and still burned the bottom a little so keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Petrosha
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This was a fabulous bread recipe! It turned out perfectly. I read the other reviews and was aware that I might need to adjust the flour amount and to watch the cooking time. I used 8 cups of flour and baked the loaves at 450C for approximately 35 minutes. I used my kitchen aid mixmaster with dough hook and indeed, it was as smooth as a bambino bottom! We ate one whole loaf with our dinner. It was absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Awesome bread! I followed some the of the suggestions in the reviews on directions since this was my first attempt at italian bread. It was done in a little over 20 mins. I will definitely be making this again and again!! So much better than store bought italian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Ok I have made this twice now and I don't know what I'm doing wrong I followed it to a T and still not happy with it it comes out to dense HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I love this recipe as an easy go to Italian bread. I've made it many times. No matter how "wet" or "dry" my flour is or what brand I use, I always need more by usually 1-1/2 cups. As a result I increase the salt accordingly otherwise the bread is very bland. Great recipe for the novice bread baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
5 for bread, less for instructions. If I had never baked bread before I think I might have been lost. I formed 4 smaller loaves after the first rise. I also followed someone's suggestion to mist every 3 mins for the first 10 & my crusts were perfect. Using instant yeast start to finish took just under 2 hours. I baked my smaller loaves 23 minutes & checked internal temp [200] per another reviewers suggestion. I did use kosher salt & probably used a bit more than called for. Over all a winner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was amazing bread! My family could not stop raving about it. Nice crust, with a soft, chewy center. The only change I made was to place a 1/2c of water in cake pan on the bottom shelf to create extra steam. This bread was probably the best I've ever attempted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah DeFries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I used 8 cups of flour and didn't mist with water...otherwise followed directions exactly and had no problems. It was amazing and got fabulous reviews from my family and friends. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States