Mama Corleone's Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
as soon as i get back from iraq, i told my wife this is the dish i want her to prepare for me, and m irish. of course, three and a half years stationed in naples, italy spoiled me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
WONDERFUL Flavor - I added 1 chopped onion and 1 can diced tomatoes and used penne pasta. This is now a staple meal at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I've got to be honest, I got major brownie points with my hubby just for texting him that I was making a Godfather-inspired meal for dinner. I did make some changes (2-3 cloves of garlic instead of 1, added a can of drained italian-style diced tomatoes, a splash of red wine, 1 chopped small onion, multi-grain penne instead of spaghetti, and extra sausage cut into bite-sized pieces), but I don't think any of these changed the character of the dish too much. It was tasty and filling, and while he ate, hubby picked up an Italian accent as he told me about movie references to food in The Godfather. I guess that means it was a success - I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a favorite here. I have prepared this many times and always use whatever pasta I have on hand. I leave the sausage in the casings and cut each link into 5 or 6 pieces before adding to the pan. When the pepper are tender, I deglaze the pan with approx. 1/4 cup red wine. This is a great recipe. Fast, easy and perfect results every time. My whole family really enjoys this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by dinky
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This dish was great. My kids and husband both enjoyed it. I used turkey sausage and added some homemade salsa my husband had made the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I added a small chopped white onion. I also used spicy italian turkey sausage and whole wheat spaghetti, because thats what my husband and I prefer, it turned out amazing! I added about 1/4 cup of a blend of italian cheeses at the end along with the parmesan. Yummmm I can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Love this! It is quick and easy and a hit with the family members who like sausage. A great way to take advantage of late summer market bounty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
What fun, Surfwrench! This isn't how I typically make sausage and peppers but I couldn't resist trying this with such a cute and catchy name and I got a kick out of how you came up with the recipe! I used rigatoni rather than spaghetti because I didn't remove the sausage from the casings, so I needed a sturdier pasta. I just cut the links into manageable sections. I added a little red wine and used fresh herbs rather than dried. At the end, I couldn't resist throwing in some chopped, fresh San Marzano tomatoes from my garden. Hubs said he likes the way I usually make sausage and peppers better, but when I reminded him that the whole point was to try something different, he agreed this was very good in its own right! I admit my own Italian bias, but beyond that I have to say you can't go wrong with this recipe - it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I tried this one last night and my family LOVED it!! My Italian husband accused me of stealing the recipe from his mother! The only change I made was I added a large can (drained) of diced tomatoes to it. I am definitely saving this one as a family favorite! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States