Mama Bear's Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Nice recipe. I tried it this morning and even my 2 year old liked it. I omitted the raisins because I didn't have any, but I may get some. I also used quick oats because I didn't have rolled oats, worked fine and cooked quicker! A little extra cinnamon helps too! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
We all love this! It's best made with steel-cut oats from the health food store. Sometimes I cut the fat by using Butter Buds or butter flavoring and skim milk. I have to leave out the raisins for my kids, but I love it with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Kid's ate it up quickly. I use groats which are more chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I really love this! I've made it several days in a row. It's protein packed- far more than regular oatmeal, so it's a great energy boost for breakfast, and a good source of calcium with all the extra milk added. I did leave the oatmeal on the burner for a minute or two after the eggs were added, so I was sure they'd cook. I also omitted the honey during cooking because the first time, it burned. My kids didn't like this (I thought I could sneak the eggs on them) but I love it. It's a recipe you can play with too - I scaled it back to one serving and still added both eggs and it was really custardy and good. If you like bread pudding and you like oatmeal, you'll like this. This is also a great recipe for expectant moms like me, whose doctors recommend a very high protein breakfast and three glasses of milk a day for calcium (hard to get those in!) - this meets a LOT of those requirements into one really yummy breakfast! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This was a great recipe! A totally "stick to your ribs" breakfast. My children preferred it with white sugar (influence of Cocoa Puffs and instant Maple and Brown Sugar oatmeal - YUK). But the consistancy was very creamy and smooth. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I love this recipe! I've made it several times for my family, and most of them really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I never had porridge, nor knew what it was! I have been missing the most wonderful treat for years!! This tastes sooo goood and creamy! Yum- yum! A must try for all oatmeal lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Yum, yum, yum! I love this recipe! I omit the raisins and I also leave the porridge on low heat for an extra minute while I stir the egg in. I usually add extra cinnamon and sometimes nutmeg as well and at the end I add about 1/2 a chopped banana and sometimes honey or sweetener instead of the butter and milk. It comes out lovely, warm and creamy and gives me energy! Thanks for a great recipe! I meant to say as well that I throw it all on the stove, hop in the shower and when I come out, voila - it's ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I think that this is the best homemade oatmeal that I have ever eaten. I's creamy and tastes so good. I added a little more cinnamon and vanilla. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I love this recipe! As others suggested, I scale the recipe to one serving but add one whole egg. I don't add the butter, milk or honey at the end - but I like my oatmeal unadorned. My kids like the milk and honey, as well as the "Mama Bear" name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States