Mama Bear's Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I really love this! I've made it several days in a row. It's protein packed- far more than regular oatmeal, so it's a great energy boost for breakfast, and a good source of calcium with all the extra milk added. I did leave the oatmeal on the burner for a minute or two after the eggs were added, so I was sure they'd cook. I also omitted the honey during cooking because the first time, it burned. My kids didn't like this (I thought I could sneak the eggs on them) but I love it. It's a recipe you can play with too - I scaled it back to one serving and still added both eggs and it was really custardy and good. If you like bread pudding and you like oatmeal, you'll like this. This is also a great recipe for expectant moms like me, whose doctors recommend a very high protein breakfast and three glasses of milk a day for calcium (hard to get those in!) - this meets a LOT of those requirements into one really yummy breakfast! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This recipe requires a little modification if you like your porridge thick instead of runny, that is why 4 stars instead of 5. I added 2TBSP more oatmeal, and then still had to continue cooking on low after the addition of each of the eggs to reach my desired consistency. However, at that point I was very pleased with the overall product. I knew it wouldn't be sweet enough for my family, so I substituted 3 TBSP of brown sugar for the honey and mixed it in with the eggs. Then we sprinkled brown sugar on top... oh, and I used just a TBSP or so of half n half on top of each bowl instead of the quarter cup of milk. Didn't have vanilla, so used a few drops of almond extract... and omitted the raisins as we don't like them. It turned out delicious and I agree with the other reviewers, it packs an oatmeal breakfast with an extra protein punch so it sticks to your ribs! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
When I was a kid, I had to eat oatmeal for breakfast and I wasn't allowed to dress it up with sugar, butter or even honey, so for years, the mere thought of oatmeal was enough to make me gag (I know, I know, Oliver Twist would've been quite pleased to eat my portion, even without sugar), but when I saw that this recipe tasted "custardy" I had to give it a try. I'm glad I did! I used brown sugar instead of honey and I added 1/4 teaspoon salt. This will be great on cold winter mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was really good. I added more cinnamon (another 1/2 tsp) and I had to cook it a little longer to get it to a good consistency. The first time I made this I put the honey on it - it was great. Even my 3 and 5 year old boys liked it! The next time I made this, I added wild blueberry preserves to my serving. It was soooo good - it tasted kinda like a blueberry muffin!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Yum, yum, yum! I love this recipe! I omit the raisins and I also leave the porridge on low heat for an extra minute while I stir the egg in. I usually add extra cinnamon and sometimes nutmeg as well and at the end I add about 1/2 a chopped banana and sometimes honey or sweetener instead of the butter and milk. It comes out lovely, warm and creamy and gives me energy! Thanks for a great recipe! I meant to say as well that I throw it all on the stove, hop in the shower and when I come out, voila - it's ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
My husband and I basically enjoyed this recipe but were put off somewhat by the flavor of powdered milk. There is really no reason why powdered milk has to be used, so if I make it again I will either use regular (skim) milk or simply use water. It would probably also be easier to beat the eggs into the liquid before heating. Otherwise, if you aren't careful, you could end up with streaks of cooked egg throughtout your cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is a great filling healthy breakfast. Both kids and the hubby enjoyed it. I only had 2 eggs and it was still nice and creamy. We didn't add the extra milk and I used brown sugar instead of honey. I have made it quite a few time the past 2 weeks. Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was definitely the best oatmeal I have ever eaten. I did change the recipe a little, though. Since I was only making two servings, I halved the recipe, but used a cup of oats (I only had quick-cooking), added nutmeg, and only used one egg (how are you supposed to put in half an egg??) The result was excellent, and my husband liked it, too. Will definitely make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I'm eating it right now. Wonderful, creamy taste. I made it wrong and it is still good, I scaled it down to one and I had 2 eggs in my head so added 2 eggs instead of 3/4. So, I just cooked it a little longer to make sure the egg was fully cooked. Used brown sugar instead of honey because I was out of honey. I'm sure it tastes great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Delicious and creamy. I used quick oats and it still turned out great! The taste was similar to rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States