Mama Bear's Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I really love this! I've made it several days in a row. It's protein packed- far more than regular oatmeal, so it's a great energy boost for breakfast, and a good source of calcium with all the extra milk added. I did leave the oatmeal on the burner for a minute or two after the eggs were added, so I was sure they'd cook. I also omitted the honey during cooking because the first time, it burned. My kids didn't like this (I thought I could sneak the eggs on them) but I love it. It's a recipe you can play with too - I scaled it back to one serving and still added both eggs and it was really custardy and good. If you like bread pudding and you like oatmeal, you'll like this. This is also a great recipe for expectant moms like me, whose doctors recommend a very high protein breakfast and three glasses of milk a day for calcium (hard to get those in!) - this meets a LOT of those requirements into one really yummy breakfast! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
We all love this! It's best made with steel-cut oats from the health food store. Sometimes I cut the fat by using Butter Buds or butter flavoring and skim milk. I have to leave out the raisins for my kids, but I love it with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Kid's ate it up quickly. I use groats which are more chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Delicious and creamy. I used quick oats and it still turned out great! The taste was similar to rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Wow. I'm really surprised. This was actually really good. My favorite by far. I didn't think that adding eggs would taste good, but I used my better'n egg product, and it tasted great. However after adding the eggs it was already to moist to add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Really good oatmeal. Its so thick and creamy. I left the pot on the stove while adding the eggs to ensure that they were fully cooked. Kids loved it, and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I love oatmeal and this made a wonderful breakfast for me this morning. I left out the raisins and added a few spoonfuls of sugar while the mixture was cooking. I halved the recipe since it was just me, but used 2 eggs for a more creamy texture. Some of the whites did scramble a little, but it didn't effect the taste. I might try this again using brown sugar and Irish Oatmeal. Thanks for this yummy treat Becky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
This was REALLY good. It wasn't too sweet. You actually enjoyed the taste of oatmeal instead of the overpower of sweetness. The kids had to add a little more sugar to theirs, but they loved too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I was excited to try this, but me and my two kids (nine and two) really didn't like this much. We LOVE oatmeal and porridge as a rule...but I guess we just really did not like the addition of the eggs. I am sure some will like this, but to us, it was just kind of slimy (even though I left the pot on the stove while stirring in the eggs...which I tempered first, by the way, to avoid curdling). We won't be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States