Mama Bear's Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
My husband and our 21 month old son absolutely loved and inhaled this recipe, hence the 5 stars. I don't care for eggs all that much, and while the eggs pretty much got incorporated into the oatmeal, they still gave it an eggy flavor that I didn't care for. But that's just me. It was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I tried this recipe because I don't like oatmeal, and this recipe suggested that oatmeal-haters might like it. I did not like it, and I did not find the texture to be as custard-like as I expected. I didn't want to give the recipe a bad rating just because I don't like oatmeal; if you do like it, you'll probably like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Yum! My kids asked for oatmeal for lunch today so I made this. They like oatmeal, but ate almost twice their usual portions with this. I only got a taste, but will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong...I couldn't even eat more than 2 spoonfuls. And I LOVE oatmeal. It was runny and I didn't like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This was very good, very simple, and VERY nutritious. I really felt energized after this. I didn't have any powdered milk, but I think it came out just fine-- I'll make it again with som powdered milk later. I had to add sugar as a preference, but that is because I was raised on sugar-drowned oatmeal. Mmm! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I love this recipe! As others suggested, I scale the recipe to one serving but add one whole egg. I don't add the butter, milk or honey at the end - but I like my oatmeal unadorned. My kids like the milk and honey, as well as the "Mama Bear" name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I think that this is the best homemade oatmeal that I have ever eaten. I's creamy and tastes so good. I added a little more cinnamon and vanilla. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Nice recipe. I tried it this morning and even my 2 year old liked it. I omitted the raisins because I didn't have any, but I may get some. I also used quick oats because I didn't have rolled oats, worked fine and cooked quicker! A little extra cinnamon helps too! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Yum, yum, yum! I love this recipe! I omit the raisins and I also leave the porridge on low heat for an extra minute while I stir the egg in. I usually add extra cinnamon and sometimes nutmeg as well and at the end I add about 1/2 a chopped banana and sometimes honey or sweetener instead of the butter and milk. It comes out lovely, warm and creamy and gives me energy! Thanks for a great recipe! I meant to say as well that I throw it all on the stove, hop in the shower and when I come out, voila - it's ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I never had porridge, nor knew what it was! I have been missing the most wonderful treat for years!! This tastes sooo goood and creamy! Yum- yum! A must try for all oatmeal lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States