Mama Bear's Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This is sooo good! I was really searching for a way to sneak some additional protein into breakfast. Plus I love that you can control the sweetness by type, and by putting it into the bowl instead of the porridge pot. Family members who "love" oatmeal ate this up, and those who just "like" it, like it more now. I used brown sugar and I tempered the eggs before adding. Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was definitely the best oatmeal I have ever eaten. I did change the recipe a little, though. Since I was only making two servings, I halved the recipe, but used a cup of oats (I only had quick-cooking), added nutmeg, and only used one egg (how are you supposed to put in half an egg??) The result was excellent, and my husband liked it, too. Will definitely make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was wonderful. It came together quick, used stuff I already had on hand, and had lots of protein for a soccer game morning. Even my oatmeal-hater loved this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Best porridge I've ever eaten (and also, the only one I really like)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
My 4 year old was the only one who liked this. We're a family of oatmeal lovers, but something about this just didn't appeal to us. The texture was off or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I like oatmeal and I like custard, but I didn't particularly like this. I'd describe it more as pasty oatmeal than custardy oatmeal. But then I like my oatmeal very thick and this wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This recipe requires a little modification if you like your porridge thick instead of runny, that is why 4 stars instead of 5. I added 2TBSP more oatmeal, and then still had to continue cooking on low after the addition of each of the eggs to reach my desired consistency. However, at that point I was very pleased with the overall product. I knew it wouldn't be sweet enough for my family, so I substituted 3 TBSP of brown sugar for the honey and mixed it in with the eggs. Then we sprinkled brown sugar on top... oh, and I used just a TBSP or so of half n half on top of each bowl instead of the quarter cup of milk. Didn't have vanilla, so used a few drops of almond extract... and omitted the raisins as we don't like them. It turned out delicious and I agree with the other reviewers, it packs an oatmeal breakfast with an extra protein punch so it sticks to your ribs! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
When I was a kid, I had to eat oatmeal for breakfast and I wasn't allowed to dress it up with sugar, butter or even honey, so for years, the mere thought of oatmeal was enough to make me gag (I know, I know, Oliver Twist would've been quite pleased to eat my portion, even without sugar), but when I saw that this recipe tasted "custardy" I had to give it a try. I'm glad I did! I used brown sugar instead of honey and I added 1/4 teaspoon salt. This will be great on cold winter mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Apart from omitting the raisins, I followed the recipe exactly and quite enjoyed this. It was quite heavy - probably not the sort of thing you'd want to eat too often. Thanks, becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
My husband and our 21 month old son absolutely loved and inhaled this recipe, hence the 5 stars. I don't care for eggs all that much, and while the eggs pretty much got incorporated into the oatmeal, they still gave it an eggy flavor that I didn't care for. But that's just me. It was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States