Mama Bear's Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Really good. Note that I changed the serving size to 1, and then used 1 egg, 1 tablespoon soy milk powder, and put on a bit (unmeasured) of canned milk after cooking. Probably less honey than it called for too. Delicious and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I made it this past Saturday for my family and it was gobbled up! Even my somewhat picky 5 yr old liked it. I added some wheat germ for extra nutrition. Next time I will also add some milled flax. I used extra cinnamon and was glad I did although it would have been fine I'm sure with the amount in the recipe. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I just made this for my breakfast and it is amazing. I loved it. I scaled the recipe back to 1 serving; but still used a full egg. I didn't add the butter at the end but the porridge still turned out creamy and delicious. Next time I may omit the raisins and add a chopped apple to the porridge at the same time as the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is very good! I've eaten oatmeal all my life but never thought to add eggs to it. I wasn't sure what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. My husband and I both enjoyed it but I still can't get my 9 yr. old daughter to eat oatmeal, even when made into "Mama Bear's Porridge". I'll keep trying but for now, this one will be in my file for Papa Bear and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I was really excited about this recipe; the "custard" description intrigued me. Unfortunately, my family and I couldn't really tell any significant difference between this and regular oatmeal. It's not that it was bad, just not... spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I love regular oatmeal, but this is even better! It is more creamy and just plain good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was very good, both my husband and I enjoyed it; 19 year old daughter didn't care for it though. I used instant oats and just cooked for a minute or two. Did not add raisins and subbed 1/3 c. of brown sugar for the honey. It was very creamy. I used egg substitute and it did cook fully from the heat of the oatmeal, they didn't even know that eggs were added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
very tasty. i cooked it a little longer after adding the eggs. (didnt like the possibility of serving my 2 y/o daughter raw eggs) i also used brown sugar in place of the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
YUM...Very good and keeps you feeling fuller than ordinary oatmeal. I didn't have all of the ingredients (powered milk and raisins)used cup and a half water and cup and a half of 1% milk. Turned out great!!! I am going to make this again with chopped apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I make this with all dry ingredients and take it camping. I just add boiling water and EVERYONE loves it... HUGE hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States