Mama Bear's Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I scaled this recipe down to two servings and followed the directions as stated (except I used brown sugar instead of honey). I thought it was okay, though I prefer Grandpa Hubbard's Oatmeal (also from allrecipes.com).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is how I imagined porridge as a kid! I cooked the porridge after adding the eggs, added sugar-free maple syrup instead of honey and chopped walnuts on top. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
this was very good. Nice and smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was really good! I thought the eggs would skeeve me, but everyone enjoyed it (even our 3-year old!). I did add the raisins while I cooked the oatmeal so they would soften a bit, but apart from that, I kept the recipe the same. This definitely kept us full for a long time and was a really tasty breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
My husband and I basically enjoyed this recipe but were put off somewhat by the flavor of powdered milk. There is really no reason why powdered milk has to be used, so if I make it again I will either use regular (skim) milk or simply use water. It would probably also be easier to beat the eggs into the liquid before heating. Otherwise, if you aren't careful, you could end up with streaks of cooked egg throughtout your cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was just the warm and comforting kind of oatmeal I wanted on a cold winter morning. I topped mine with peach jam instead of honey and it was delicious!b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was really good. I added more cinnamon (another 1/2 tsp) and I had to cook it a little longer to get it to a good consistency. The first time I made this I put the honey on it - it was great. Even my 3 and 5 year old boys liked it! The next time I made this, I added wild blueberry preserves to my serving. It was soooo good - it tasted kinda like a blueberry muffin!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is a great breakfast. My kids love it. I do (for my own squeamish sake) leave the burner on low while I mix in the eggs. I also cook it with 3-4 TBSP of brown sugar (instead of sweetening at the table). It's filling, healthy and yummy. I've also made it with quick oats and it's good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
It was good - not too different that the oatmeal I make already; But I will add this one mod. instead of powdered milk I use evaporated milk and it makes the custard flavor really stand out - also be careful to remove the porridge from heat BEFORE you add the eggs, or you will end up with stringy egg drop porridge otherwise good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Great recipe! I added some brown sugar, as well as letting the raisins cook in the porridge for a few minutes to make them nice and plump. I omitted one egg, because it would have made it too runny, and it tasted fine. It certainly fills you up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States