Mama Bear's Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Very filling, and actually fills my toddler and me until lunch (hot cereal usually doesn't). Creamy. I love it! I cooked it a few minutes longer after addind eggs, just to be sure they were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is the closest I have ever gotten to getting my oatmeal-hating kids to eating oatmeal. I knew that they would not eat it as written, so I added about a tablespoon of agave nectar and a tablespoon or so of Splenda brown sugar blend. They also requested bananas, so I sliced those on top and gave them a tiny dollop of whip cream on top. They stirred it all together and ate probably half, which is better than I was expecting. I really enjoyed the creamy texture and I LOVED that there wasn't loads of sugar in it, something I have a hard time finding with 'kid-friendly' oatmeal breakfasts. I hope to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I love oats in things. Fruit and oatmeal bars, oatmeal cookies, bread with oats in/on top, hearty cakes or muffins. Any fruit crumble I make must have an oat topping. I even love oat bran for breakfast with salt and a little butter or cheese. But I've never liked sweetened oatmeal for breakfast. I tried this recipe hoping I would like it okay. I liked the honey, and the dried fruit was good (I used dried cherries because it's what I had). I had to use 3/4 milk and 1/4 water instead of powdered milk and water, and I liked the richness of it being made with milk. I did not really like the custardy texture though. The only way I've tolerated breakfast oatmeal in the past was if it was really thin and really sweet, so I actually liked this pretty well considering it's really thick and not really sweet. I won't make it again, but I think this would be a great recipe for a child or elderly person or someone who has trouble keeping weight on (or even just a super picky kid) if they like oatmeal because it's bulked up with the milk and egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Great taste and consistency. I beat the eggs and mixed them in while the burner was still on to make sure they were cooked. I also used brown sugar instead of honey. Delicious! Tasted very much like rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverChristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for my husband and myself. Turned out very well he ate two helpings and he doesn't like porridge very much. It was a hit all around my dad even stole the leftovers when he came to visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very good! Creamier than regular oatmeal, we don't add extra milk afterwards, just brown sugar and honey. Love the vanilla flavor. Healthy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Tasted like oatmeal but with more work involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Excellent way to start your morning and tasty too. Full of fiber and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was really good. I'll definitely be making it again. My husband is away and I wanted a quick, easy supper for me and my kids tonight. Even though two of the three of them swear they HATE oatmeal, all 3 of them finished their whole bowl! I didn't have any powdered milk on hand so I used about 2/3 regular milk and the other 1/3 water. I added a little more liquid than the recipe listed and cooked them a little longer (I like my oats really soft and chewy though). I also omitted the raisins since 2 of my kids don't like them and served the porridge with raisins, blueberries and chocolate chips on the side so they could choose what they wanted to add (which they loved!). I'll be making this for breakfast in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I scaled this recipe down to two servings and followed the directions as stated (except I used brown sugar instead of honey). I thought it was okay, though I prefer Grandpa Hubbard's Oatmeal (also from allrecipes.com).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States